Page 1 of 1

Multiselection - YES

PostPosted: Thu Feb 13, 2014 7:27 pm
by petrika
Form field > select it to get green boxes around > Control > General > scroll down > 'Multiselection' option : what is the meaning?

Which type of control it works?

If the form field is a 'Listbox', I can select multiple data?

thnx

Re: Multiselection - YES

PostPosted: Thu Feb 13, 2014 8:34 pm
by Villeroy
You can not bind a list box to multiple values in the same field. This may be useful for programmers. Until now I have never used a multi-selection list box.

Re: Multiselection - YES

PostPosted: Thu Jan 29, 2015 7:13 pm
by papijo
Villeroy wrote:You can not bind a list box to multiple values in the same field. This may be useful for programmers. Until now I have never used a multi-selection list box.

I agree that "You can not bind a list box to multiple values in the same field." But, how on earth can the multiselection be "useful for programmers"? Why does the OO Wiki say "If the MultiSelection property is set to True, more than one entry can be selected. " if it does not work? :knock:

Re: Multiselection - YES

PostPosted: Thu Jan 29, 2015 8:16 pm
by Villeroy
You can select multiple values but only one field in one record can be written to the database backend. Did you try to bind a a multi box to a database field? If Base would be more developed, it would be thinkable to bind a multi-box to an array field but this is not the case. Base can not handle any array fields at all.

Re: Multiselection - YES

PostPosted: Thu Jan 29, 2015 9:08 pm
by MTP
papijo wrote:how... can the multiselection be "useful for programmers"?
A macro could read the multiple selections out of the list box and write them or use them wherever the programmer wanted.

Re: Multiselection - YES

PostPosted: Thu Jan 29, 2015 11:49 pm
by Villeroy
MultiListBox.odt
Test multi-select box with Bibliography database.
(16.3 KiB) Downloaded 303 times

Re: Multiselection - YES

PostPosted: Thu Apr 06, 2017 4:01 pm
by arfgh
so then which is the purpose of multi-select in base forms listbox ? or... is there a way to use it ?

Re: Multiselection - YES

PostPosted: Thu Apr 06, 2017 8:17 pm
by UnklDonald418
One common use that comes to mind would be to select a few items from the list and press a button to display a list properties for each of the selected items for comparison.

Re: Multiselection - YES

PostPosted: Sun Apr 09, 2017 7:09 pm
by arfgh
so in base forms cant i use it ?

Re: Multiselection - YES

PostPosted: Sun Apr 09, 2017 7:27 pm
by Villeroy
You can use it anywhere you can.

Re: Multiselection - YES

PostPosted: Tue Apr 11, 2017 11:57 am
by arfgh
in base forms with the multiselection enabled, and using the control, i am unable to do multiple selections on a listbox, what am i missing ?

Re: Multiselection - YES

PostPosted: Tue Apr 11, 2017 12:08 pm
by Villeroy
A list box puts one value into its linked field.

Re: Multiselection - YES

PostPosted: Tue Apr 11, 2017 1:42 pm
by arfgh
so it is a design limitation ?
ok, but surely we can do some trick from basic and when detect two selected items show some msgbox or some.... otherwise we have that feature unuseful.

Re: Multiselection - YES

PostPosted: Tue Apr 11, 2017 3:36 pm
by Villeroy
YOU are the programmer. It is YOUR obligation to collect an array of values from your control element and do what you want with it.
myself wrote:You can not bind a list box to multiple values in the same field. This may be useful for programmers. Until now I have never used a multi-selection list box.

Re: Multiselection - YES

PostPosted: Tue Apr 11, 2017 11:19 pm
by UnklDonald418
Here is an example of how the Multiselection might be used. It is based on the stand alone form the Villeroy posted earlier.