Multiselection - YES

Creating and using forms

Multiselection - YES

Postby petrika » Thu Feb 13, 2014 7:27 pm

Form field > select it to get green boxes around > Control > General > scroll down > 'Multiselection' option : what is the meaning?

Which type of control it works?

If the form field is a 'Listbox', I can select multiple data?

thnx
Open office 4.0 on Windows XP
petrika
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Jan 24, 2014 9:59 pm

Re: Multiselection - YES

Postby Villeroy » Thu Feb 13, 2014 8:34 pm

You can not bind a list box to multiple values in the same field. This may be useful for programmers. Until now I have never used a multi-selection list box.
Please, edit this topic's initial post and add "[Solved]" to the subject line if your problem has been solved.
Ubuntu 16.04, OpenOffice 4.x & LibreOffice 5.x
User avatar
Villeroy
Volunteer
 
Posts: 24656
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 1:35 am
Location: Germany

Re: Multiselection - YES

Postby papijo » Thu Jan 29, 2015 7:13 pm

Villeroy wrote:You can not bind a list box to multiple values in the same field. This may be useful for programmers. Until now I have never used a multi-selection list box.

I agree that "You can not bind a list box to multiple values in the same field." But, how on earth can the multiselection be "useful for programmers"? Why does the OO Wiki say "If the MultiSelection property is set to True, more than one entry can be selected. " if it does not work? :knock:
LO: LibreOffice 5.2.3 on Windows 10 64bits. Split database HSQL 2.3.4.
papijo
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Sat Nov 08, 2014 5:46 pm
Location: Brittany, West of France

Re: Multiselection - YES

Postby Villeroy » Thu Jan 29, 2015 8:16 pm

You can select multiple values but only one field in one record can be written to the database backend. Did you try to bind a a multi box to a database field? If Base would be more developed, it would be thinkable to bind a multi-box to an array field but this is not the case. Base can not handle any array fields at all.
Please, edit this topic's initial post and add "[Solved]" to the subject line if your problem has been solved.
Ubuntu 16.04, OpenOffice 4.x & LibreOffice 5.x
User avatar
Villeroy
Volunteer
 
Posts: 24656
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 1:35 am
Location: Germany

Re: Multiselection - YES

Postby MTP » Thu Jan 29, 2015 9:08 pm

papijo wrote:how... can the multiselection be "useful for programmers"?
A macro could read the multiple selections out of the list box and write them or use them wherever the programmer wanted.
OpenOffice 4.1.1 on Windows 10, HSQLDB 1.8 split database
User avatar
MTP
Volunteer
 
Posts: 1618
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2012 7:31 pm
Location: Midwest USA

Re: Multiselection - YES

Postby Villeroy » Thu Jan 29, 2015 11:49 pm

MultiListBox.odt
Test multi-select box with Bibliography database.
(16.3 KiB) Downloaded 173 times
Please, edit this topic's initial post and add "[Solved]" to the subject line if your problem has been solved.
Ubuntu 16.04, OpenOffice 4.x & LibreOffice 5.x
User avatar
Villeroy
Volunteer
 
Posts: 24656
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 1:35 am
Location: Germany

Re: Multiselection - YES

Postby arfgh » Thu Apr 06, 2017 4:01 pm

so then which is the purpose of multi-select in base forms listbox ? or... is there a way to use it ?
OpenOffice last version - Windows 8.1 Enterprise x64 - Windows XP x64 SP2
arfgh
 
Posts: 350
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 6:44 pm

Re: Multiselection - YES

Postby UnklDonald418 » Thu Apr 06, 2017 8:17 pm

One common use that comes to mind would be to select a few items from the list and press a button to display a list properties for each of the selected items for comparison.
If your problem has been solved, please edit this topic's initial post and add "[Solved]" to the subject line
Apache OpenOffice 4.1.4 - Windows 10 Professional
UnklDonald418
Volunteer
 
Posts: 588
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 12:56 am
Location: Colorado, USA

Re: Multiselection - YES

Postby arfgh » Sun Apr 09, 2017 7:09 pm

so in base forms cant i use it ?
OpenOffice last version - Windows 8.1 Enterprise x64 - Windows XP x64 SP2
arfgh
 
Posts: 350
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 6:44 pm

Re: Multiselection - YES

Postby Villeroy » Sun Apr 09, 2017 7:27 pm

You can use it anywhere you can.
Please, edit this topic's initial post and add "[Solved]" to the subject line if your problem has been solved.
Ubuntu 16.04, OpenOffice 4.x & LibreOffice 5.x
User avatar
Villeroy
Volunteer
 
Posts: 24656
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 1:35 am
Location: Germany

Re: Multiselection - YES

Postby arfgh » Tue Apr 11, 2017 11:57 am

in base forms with the multiselection enabled, and using the control, i am unable to do multiple selections on a listbox, what am i missing ?
OpenOffice last version - Windows 8.1 Enterprise x64 - Windows XP x64 SP2
arfgh
 
Posts: 350
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 6:44 pm

Re: Multiselection - YES

Postby Villeroy » Tue Apr 11, 2017 12:08 pm

A list box puts one value into its linked field.
Please, edit this topic's initial post and add "[Solved]" to the subject line if your problem has been solved.
Ubuntu 16.04, OpenOffice 4.x & LibreOffice 5.x
User avatar
Villeroy
Volunteer
 
Posts: 24656
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 1:35 am
Location: Germany

Re: Multiselection - YES

Postby arfgh » Tue Apr 11, 2017 1:42 pm

so it is a design limitation ?
ok, but surely we can do some trick from basic and when detect two selected items show some msgbox or some.... otherwise we have that feature unuseful.
OpenOffice last version - Windows 8.1 Enterprise x64 - Windows XP x64 SP2
arfgh
 
Posts: 350
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 6:44 pm

Re: Multiselection - YES

Postby Villeroy » Tue Apr 11, 2017 3:36 pm

YOU are the programmer. It is YOUR obligation to collect an array of values from your control element and do what you want with it.
myself wrote:You can not bind a list box to multiple values in the same field. This may be useful for programmers. Until now I have never used a multi-selection list box.
Please, edit this topic's initial post and add "[Solved]" to the subject line if your problem has been solved.
Ubuntu 16.04, OpenOffice 4.x & LibreOffice 5.x
User avatar
Villeroy
Volunteer
 
Posts: 24656
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 1:35 am
Location: Germany

Re: Multiselection - YES

Postby UnklDonald418 » Tue Apr 11, 2017 11:19 pm

Here is an example of how the Multiselection might be used. It is based on the stand alone form the Villeroy posted earlier.
Attachments
Demo09B.odb
(21.87 KiB) Downloaded 63 times
If your problem has been solved, please edit this topic's initial post and add "[Solved]" to the subject line
Apache OpenOffice 4.1.4 - Windows 10 Professional
UnklDonald418
Volunteer
 
Posts: 588
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 12:56 am
Location: Colorado, USA


Return to Forms

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests