[Solved] Dated notes

Creating and using forms
leo1

[Solved] Dated notes

Post by leo1 »

I have a contacts database that I want to add notes to that are unique to each contact. I might need a subform to do this. The notes need to be dated and I need to be able to enter notes unique with each date. How would I do this? I am pretty new to the database scene. I know that MS Access had a template which included dated sub form notes. Does Open office have one?
Thank you for your help
Last edited by leo1 on Sat May 31, 2008 1:52 am, edited 1 time in total.
DrewJensen
Volunteer

Re: dated notes

Post by DrewJensen »

Hello leo1,

Base doesn't have quite the template system that MSA has, but none the less this is fairly straight forward.

What you want to do is create ( one solution anyway ) a separate table that will hold your notes and have this table related to the main contact table.

Let's say you have a primary key field in your Contact table named ID.

You would create a new table called, maybe, ContactNote and it would have fields such as

ContactNoteID - Primary Key for this table
ContactID - this is the field that will link this table to the Contact table, it must be of the same data type as the Primary key field in the Contact table ( normally an INTEGER )
EntryDate - This should be a field of type TIMESTAMP
Note - of type MEMO

Once you have created this table then you can create a form that uses the Contact table and the ContactNote table as a sub-form.
Former member of The Document Foundation
Former member of Apache OpenOffice PMC
LibreOffice on Ubuntu 18.04
leo1

Post by leo1 »

I did the wizard to set up the form but it doesn't let me put in any data the fields are greyed out for some reason. Any ideas

Thanks
DrewJensen
Volunteer

Post by DrewJensen »

Well, it could be a couple of things - especially given my rather terse comments about how to set this up.