OO Base 3.0 Base will not allow forms

Creating and using forms

OO Base 3.0 Base will not allow forms

Postby ray_miami » Sat Nov 29, 2008 6:54 am

Okay so I am not a pro with MS Access muchless OO Base, however, the option to create a form from a wizard or creating one in design view are greyed out. Additionally, after downloading a tutorial database file that contained forms, I was unable to open the forms to view, edit, or input data. I am on OO 3.0.0 with MS Windows XP Home. I also have MS Office installed on the same system. Have you expierenced this? Are there any updates that will fix this problem?

-Ray-
OOo 3.0.X on Ms Windows XP
ray_miami
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2008 6:43 am

Re: OO Base 3.0 Base will not allow forms

Postby Villeroy » Sat Nov 29, 2008 10:13 am

Install the whole office suite and some fairly recent Java runtime. Installing this office suite, you may leave aside Base if you are shure that you never use serial letters, business cards nor need bibliographies. The Base component is completely useless when you try to install it without the office. Base is a frontend to other databases. As such it import database records into Writer documents and spreadsheets. Forms and Reports are nothing but Writer documents embedded in the database (which is nothing but a zip-archive, btw).
Please, edit this topic's initial post and add "[Solved]" to the subject line if your problem has been solved.
Ubuntu 12.04, Apache OpenOffice 4.x
User avatar
Villeroy
Volunteer
 
Posts: 17305
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 1:35 am
Location: Germany

Re: OO Base 3.0 Base will not allow forms

Postby Safway » Mon Dec 15, 2008 10:42 pm

ray_miami, maybe you installed Base without the other components of OpenOffice.org because MS Office is also installed and you didn't want OO.o to mess with MS Office. Well, OO.o can coincide peacefully with MS Office on the same computer. One word of caution, however, is when you install OO.o, make sure you don't associate MS Office files with OO.o programs (if that is how you want your computer to run). During the install process of freedom- and choice-providing OO.o you are provided with this option.
If someone posts a fix for your question, then please post a quick thank you and then go to your first post, use the edit button to add [Solved] as the first word of the title so other people can rely on the fix as well.
LibreOffice 3.3.3 on Fedora
Safway
Volunteer
 
Posts: 347
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2008 4:35 pm


Return to Forms

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot] and 4 guests