[Solved] Field data shows up on every record

Creating and using forms

[Solved] Field data shows up on every record

Postby shadow350 » Wed Aug 08, 2018 6:14 pm

Hi

I have a form with fields from a table
some of the fields, when I type in text it goes on every record!
seems to happen with only two of the fields
not sure why how do I change this?

thank you for your help
Last edited by shadow350 on Fri Aug 10, 2018 9:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.
open office 4.1.5
MacBook Air 10.12.6
shadow350
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2018 7:16 pm

Re: Field data shows up on every record

Postby Nocton » Fri Aug 10, 2018 1:19 pm

We need more information about your tables, field structure and form.
OpenOffice 4.2.0 on Windows 10
Nocton
Volunteer
 
Posts: 491
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 10:27 am
Location: UK

Re: Field data shows up on every record

Postby shadow350 » Fri Aug 10, 2018 8:39 pm

Hi I enclosed a test database I copied mine and changed the personal data
when I input data in "horse property" and "acres" that info shows up on every record which of course changes any previous info I put in
this doesn't happen with the other fields I must be missing something but I am not sure what

I have a MacBook Air Sierra 10.12.6

thank you
Attachments
test database.odb
(16.21 KiB) Downloaded 7 times
open office 4.1.5
MacBook Air 10.12.6
shadow350
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2018 7:16 pm

Re: Field data shows up on every record

Postby UnklDonald418 » Fri Aug 10, 2018 9:22 pm

The problem is that the text box controls for Horse Property and Acres on your form document are not connected to any table fields.
Open Buyer Client form document in the Edit/Design mode.
Right click on the text box for Horse Property and select Control to open the Properties: Text Box dialog.
On the Data tab select the down arrow to the right of Data field and select horse property from the list of fields.
Likewise, set the Data field to acres for the Acres text box.
Exit the Design mode and test the form. It should save what you type in those text boxes in the appropriate fields in the Buyer client table.
If your problem has been solved, please edit this topic's initial post and add "[Solved]" to the beginning of the subject line
Apache OpenOffice 4.1.5 & LibreOffice 6.0.4.2 - Windows 10 Professional
UnklDonald418
Volunteer
 
Posts: 890
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 12:56 am
Location: Colorado, USA

Re: Field data shows up on every record

Postby shadow350 » Fri Aug 10, 2018 9:37 pm

Thank you Thank you !!!!!!
I spent some time checking things but wasn't sure what to look for
open office 4.1.5
MacBook Air 10.12.6
shadow350
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2018 7:16 pm


Return to Forms

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest