[Solved] Writer crashes when I export it to PDF

Writing a book, Automating Document Production - Discuss your special needs here
EdIsenberg

[Solved] Writer crashes when I export it to PDF

Post by EdIsenberg »

I tried to FILE | EXPORT AS PDF my novel, and twice OOWriter has crashed. I have a screenshot of the PDF Export Settings plus 6 screenshots of the various error messages that were displayed during the recovery process. I think some of them are due to it trying to recover the temporary file that is created while working on an OOWriter document. It's my guess it lost that temporary document somehow. Luckily I saved the document before trying this, so I'm not in trouble.

I can't believe how much time I am spending on OOWriter instead of my novel. :( :crazy: I realize some of my problems are due to my not understanding various processes, but then again, I've been using OOWriter & OOCalc for many years, and have been able to write and correctly format 98% of my novel in it. If getting things like spacing, bulleted paragraphs and picture captions right isn't reasonably obvious to a fairly experienced (but admittedly not expert) user, then that says something about the UI, doesn't it?

Perhaps LibreOffice is better. If I can't get things going again I'll even have to consider the unthinkable. (I won't say the name since everyone knows what I'm referring to.)

[I'm sorry I sound so depressed. I'm becoming extremely worried I won't meet the deadline, which will cost me money. Given it isn't the novel itself that's delaying me, my frustration is getting out of hand. Again, I'm sorry to expose these emotions to all of you who are donating your time and knowledge to help me and so many other people use what, after all, is a major software program that itself is both free and created by generous people.]

Does anyone know a way to convert an ODT to PDF without using the internal FILE | EXPORT TO PDF process?