Page 1 of 1

Auto Text entries

PostPosted: Tue Nov 24, 2015 8:41 pm
by Golfer
Concerning the auto text. I select edit then auto text. A box appears. The I type in a word, then a shortcut, then select standard. Instructions I read then tell me to select auto text button and then new. But the button is grayed out. What could be wrong here?

Re: Auto Text entries

PostPosted: Tue Nov 24, 2015 9:14 pm
by Bill
The "Standard" category is in Program Files and is read-only. Select the "My AutoText" category which is in the user profile and can be modified by the user.

Re: Auto Text entries

PostPosted: Tue Nov 24, 2015 9:41 pm
by Golfer
Thank you, I selected MY TEXT, typed in the word, but when I select the auto text button it doesn't show a new, but an import button

Re: Auto Text entries

PostPosted: Tue Nov 24, 2015 9:48 pm
by FJCC
I think you have to have some text selected in the document for the New button to be active. Otherwise, AutoText doesn't know what you want to insert.

Re: Auto Text entries

PostPosted: Tue Nov 24, 2015 9:57 pm
by Bill
Golfer wrote:Thank you, I selected MY TEXT, typed in the word, but when I select the auto text button it doesn't show a new, but an import button

You type in a name and a shortcut for the AutoText on the AutoText dialog. The AutoText itself must be selected in the document. It is not typed in the AutoText dialog.

Re: Auto Text entries

PostPosted: Sun Nov 29, 2015 11:56 pm
by Golfer
When I want to use auto text, do I need to open up the auto text box and select the word and hit insert. It seems to work this way. Shouldn't I be able to type the short cut on the page itself to have it posted.
also when I highlight the word on document, open auto text and type in the word, then select to type in a shortcut, it puts it in uppercase only. Why?

Re: Auto Text entries

PostPosted: Mon Nov 30, 2015 12:32 am
by acknak
Golfer wrote:... Shouldn't I be able to type the short cut on the page itself to have it posted.

Type the shortcut/abbreviation then press F3 to replace the abbreviation with the corresponding autotext entry.

... type in a shortcut, it puts it in uppercase only. Why?

Because the abbreviation is case-insensitive. The abbreviations are entered and stored as ALL CAPS but it the letter case doesn't matter when you use it in the document.

Re: Auto Text entries and opening files

PostPosted: Mon Nov 30, 2015 11:08 pm
by Golfer
I'll get back on the auto text. Now, I'm experiencing problems with opening a few word
files, others open fine, but these few, when I select to open them. A box appears about a filter selection. I went to Microsoft word 2007 template I select it. Then a box opens saying General Error. General input/output error.
What is going on here? Problems using this software.

Re: Auto Text entries

PostPosted: Tue Dec 01, 2015 5:36 am
by acknak
The "ASCII Filter" window is the "last resort" when for some reason a file cannot be opened. Usually, it means that the file is damaged, but it could be that the file format is not supported, or some other reason.

The only thing I can suggest is to try and open the file with MS Office. If that works, you can save a new copy in a more compatible file format, or copy/paste into OO.

Re: Auto Text entries

PostPosted: Tue Dec 01, 2015 8:11 am
by Golfer
I copied the file into a OpenOffice new document, it offers to save it in an odt extension or to select keep current format

If I select keep current format, will it save it in the word doc. format. But it only offers word 97/XP/2000 version.
Isn't there any update of the word format, like word 2012 to keep the file format in this version I used originally.

Re: Auto Text entries

PostPosted: Tue Dec 01, 2015 7:00 pm
by acknak
OO has some support for the newer MS Office formats but the 97/XP/2000 format is the best supported, all around.