Extracting information

Writing a book, Automating Document Production - Discuss your special needs here
yuckysocks

Extracting information

Post by yuckysocks »

Hello!

I'm looking for information to perform the following. I'm new to the advanced features of wordprocessors, so forgive me if there is a common way to do this that I couldn't guess the "well known" name for. I DON'T think mailmerge is what I'm trying to do.

I have a 250 page output from ACT, that's a .doc
Each page is a contact record, but there are no attribute fields or anything. I want to extract all of the e-mail addresses based on the inclusion of the "@" character, and put each of those entries into a cell in a spreadsheet.

Additionally, if it's possible, I would like to export the contact names from this writer file also, and align those in the spreadsheet with their emails. Because of an old version of ACT< unfortunately this is the method I'm consigned to use.

Thanks, and hopefully we can make this happen :)

Alex

PS - Email is my best contact method.
yuckysocks

Re: Extracting information

Post by yuckysocks »

Also,

I'm using OS X, open office 2.2.1

The text document is actually a rtf. Apologies for not being clear at first.
acknak

Post by acknak »

I think you're going to have to provide a sample of the document you have: the exact layout will determine how to extract the data. If you can provide a part of your actual input file (with any private information anonymized), it would be best.

In the end, Writer is probably not the right tool to do this. E.g. you can use a pattern search to find all the email addresses, but I can't see any way to do anything useful with the results in Writer. Some kind of macro would be needed to process the selected addresses. Writer is a word-processor and text formatter, not a text processor.