Questions about creating sidenotes with macros

Writing a book, Automating Document Production - Discuss your special needs here
sam mlami

Questions about creating sidenotes with macros

Post by sam mlami »

Edit: Split from Sidenotes for questions from new person 
hi Hanya. I was directed to your sidenotes Macro by Rory OF.

I am not experienced with Macros or extensions, and I had some troubles with my setup (I think connected with Mac and Java - my comp crashes if I try and run a macro) but now your document is now working with the Macros enabled.

I have 2 questions.
1. Very basic - how do I change the parameters of the document so that when I use the 'insert sidenote' function which you have written, I don't have to amend the field and character style each time. (see attached document for a screenshot of how my document looks).
2. Currently, the numbering system does not re-order itself automatically in the way the footnotes do. What I mean by this - if I reorder my text so that the sentence which refers to footnote 4 is actually before footnote 3, then typically the footnote numbers would re-adjust accordingly. Is there a way to amend this.

Many thanks,
Sam
Attachments
Screenshot 2021-10-13 at 17.31.04a.jpg
OpenOffice (4.1.6) running on MacBook Pro (10.15.7)
RoryOF

Re: Sidenotes

Post by RoryOF »

Hanya's macro allows one to enter the notes using the standard OpenOffice /Insert /Footnote method, which automatically numbers footnotes, and, if a footnote is inserted in the text, will number that note and renumber the other accordingly. Then the macro will take the footnotes and position them as sidenotes.
Apache OpenOffice 4.1.15 on Xubuntu 22.04.4 LTS
sam mlami

Post by sam mlami »

Thanks Rory, much appreciated.

Could you also give me guidance on question 1,sorry if its a really basic question..
JeJe
Volunteer

Post by JeJe »