[Solved] How do I delete a second box in OpenOffice Writer?

Using them, Making them , Finding them

[Solved] How do I delete a second box in OpenOffice Writer?

Postby Randyw » Sun Apr 06, 2014 1:18 am

How do I delete a second box in Openoffice writer for printing envelopes? The origional box was there when I downloaded the software but I clicked on something and a 2nd box appeared below it so now I can't figure how to remove it? Maybe it is called a second page because when I print a envelope it prints on a second piece of paper which is annoying. Can anyone help me fix this please?? :?:

Thanks!!
Last edited by Hagar Delest on Wed Apr 09, 2014 2:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: tagged [Solved].
openoffice 4 writer
Randyw
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2014 1:10 am

Re: How do I delete a second box in Openoffice writer?

Postby mgroenescheij » Sun Apr 06, 2014 2:45 am

There are many settings that could cause this behavior, if you upload the document it's much easier to assist.
AOO 4.1.5 on MS Windows 10 Professional & MacOS High Sierra 10.13.5
Please add '[Solved]' at beginning of your first post title (edit button) if your issue has been fixed.
mgroenescheij
Volunteer
 
Posts: 300
Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2009 10:19 pm
Location: Sydney Australia

Re: How do I delete a second box in Openoffice writer?

Postby Randyw » Sun Apr 06, 2014 2:55 am

Thanks so do you want a srceenshot? Thanks for the help.
openoffice 4 writer
Randyw
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2014 1:10 am

Re: How do I delete a second box in Openoffice writer?

Postby Randyw » Sun Apr 06, 2014 3:08 am

Here is a screenshot
Capture3_zpsc8abe387.jpg
Last edited by Hagar Delest on Wed Apr 09, 2014 2:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: pic embedded
openoffice 4 writer
Randyw
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2014 1:10 am

Re: How do I delete a second box in Openoffice writer?

Postby mgroenescheij » Sun Apr 06, 2014 3:16 am

From a screenshot you can see how it looks, but not what is causing the issue.
Please upload the document so we can see the settings.
AOO 4.1.5 on MS Windows 10 Professional & MacOS High Sierra 10.13.5
Please add '[Solved]' at beginning of your first post title (edit button) if your issue has been fixed.
mgroenescheij
Volunteer
 
Posts: 300
Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2009 10:19 pm
Location: Sydney Australia

Re: How do I delete a second box in Openoffice writer?

Postby Randyw » Sun Apr 06, 2014 3:22 am

Thanks but how do I do that????????????????? If I knew how to delete it of my computer I would redownload it again??
openoffice 4 writer
Randyw
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2014 1:10 am

Re: How do I delete a second box in Openoffice writer?

Postby mgroenescheij » Sun Apr 06, 2014 6:14 am

You upload a writer document (odt file) the same as you upload a screen print.
There is nothing to delete and download for this simple task.
AOO 4.1.5 on MS Windows 10 Professional & MacOS High Sierra 10.13.5
Please add '[Solved]' at beginning of your first post title (edit button) if your issue has been fixed.
mgroenescheij
Volunteer
 
Posts: 300
Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2009 10:19 pm
Location: Sydney Australia

Re: How do I delete a second box in Openoffice writer?

Postby Bill » Sun Apr 06, 2014 10:22 am

It looks like a third table has been inserted. How many tables are shown in the Navigator?
AOO 4.1.7, LO 6.3.6.2 and LO 6.4.3.2 on Kubuntu 20.04
Bill
Volunteer
 
Posts: 7872
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2007 6:48 am

Re: How do I delete a second box in Openoffice writer?

Postby Randyw » Sun Apr 06, 2014 3:39 pm

But how do I upload??????
openoffice 4 writer
Randyw
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2014 1:10 am

Re: How do I delete a second box in Openoffice writer?

Postby acknak » Sun Apr 06, 2014 8:52 pm

You can use the "Upload Attachment" link (below the message entry area after you click "POST REPLY"). For tips on posting large or confidential documents, see: [Forum] How to attach a document here
AOO4/LO5 • Linux • Fedora 23
User avatar
acknak
Moderator
 
Posts: 22756
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 1:25 am
Location: USA:NJ:E3

Re: How do I delete a second box in Openoffice writer?

Postby Randyw » Sun Apr 06, 2014 9:03 pm

I think I added the file but not sure if I did it right or if this is the right file? Wasn't sure what do do with the file from the start or the first thing to do?
Last edited by Randyw on Sun Apr 06, 2014 10:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.
openoffice 4 writer
Randyw
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2014 1:10 am

Re: How do I delete a second box in Openoffice writer?

Postby Bill » Sun Apr 06, 2014 10:19 pm

The Addressee table seems to have an extra row. To delete it, click in the second "box" and select Table > Delete > Rows.
AOO 4.1.7, LO 6.3.6.2 and LO 6.4.3.2 on Kubuntu 20.04
Bill
Volunteer
 
Posts: 7872
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2007 6:48 am

Re: How do I delete a second box in Openoffice writer?

Postby Randyw » Sun Apr 06, 2014 10:27 pm

Thanks I got so far as Table and a box appeared and no where to click "delete" >rows... I can't see it anyway? Thanks!!
openoffice 4 writer
Randyw
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2014 1:10 am

Re: How do I delete a second box in Openoffice writer?

Postby Bill » Sun Apr 06, 2014 10:30 pm

Click Table on the Menu Bar.
AOO 4.1.7, LO 6.3.6.2 and LO 6.4.3.2 on Kubuntu 20.04
Bill
Volunteer
 
Posts: 7872
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2007 6:48 am

Re: How do I delete a second box in Openoffice writer?

Postby Randyw » Sun Apr 06, 2014 10:36 pm

Got it done now. hit the alt key and delete key then hit the up key and it disappeared. Thanks so much for helping me with this.
openoffice 4 writer
Randyw
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2014 1:10 am

Re: How do I delete a second box in Openoffice writer?

Postby Bill » Sun Apr 06, 2014 10:44 pm

That doesn't work for me. It only moves the second row up to the first page. The "box" and an empty second page are still there.
AOO 4.1.7, LO 6.3.6.2 and LO 6.4.3.2 on Kubuntu 20.04
Bill
Volunteer
 
Posts: 7872
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2007 6:48 am

Re: How do I delete a second box in Openoffice writer?

Postby Randyw » Sun Apr 06, 2014 10:47 pm

You have to click on the bottom of the second page then hit the alt key and delete key then hit the up key.
openoffice 4 writer
Randyw
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2014 1:10 am

Re: How do I delete a second box in Openoffice writer?

Postby Bill » Sun Apr 06, 2014 11:08 pm

Nothing happens at all in Windows 8.1. "Alt+Delete" "Alt+Up" aren't assigned keyboard shortcut in AOO, so I don't know what they are supposed to do. They may be OS-related shortcuts.
AOO 4.1.7, LO 6.3.6.2 and LO 6.4.3.2 on Kubuntu 20.04
Bill
Volunteer
 
Posts: 7872
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2007 6:48 am

Re: How do I delete a second box in Openoffice writer?

Postby Randyw » Sun Apr 06, 2014 11:27 pm

You are supposed to hit the "alt" key and "delete" key at the same time while hitting the up key. So really you are hitting 3 keys at once. Works fine for me.. I have a new windows 8 computer. Thanks!!
openoffice 4 writer
Randyw
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2014 1:10 am

Re: How do I delete a second box in Openoffice writer?

Postby Randyw » Mon Apr 07, 2014 2:01 am

Another question? Can I set so it prints an envelope to one side of the printer instead of in the middle? Right now I have to place the envelope in the middle of the printer tray or slot.
openoffice 4 writer
Randyw
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2014 1:10 am

Re: How do I delete a second box in Openoffice writer?

Postby acknak » Mon Apr 07, 2014 2:55 am

What model printer do you have?

Are you sure it doesn't have a way to (manually) feed envelopes or other odd-sized media?
AOO4/LO5 • Linux • Fedora 23
User avatar
acknak
Moderator
 
Posts: 22756
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 1:25 am
Location: USA:NJ:E3

Re: How do I delete a second box in Openoffice writer?

Postby Randyw » Mon Apr 07, 2014 3:05 am

I have a Brother MFC J825DW but I have a Epson ordered which supports the envelope to the right in the paper feed area. I will be using the Epson. Thanks for the help.
openoffice 4 writer
Randyw
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2014 1:10 am

Re: How do I delete a second box in Openoffice writer?

Postby acknak » Mon Apr 07, 2014 3:18 am

Both Brother lasers I've used have a manual feed pass-thru for envelopes and the like. I don't see something like that for the MFC but the specs do say that the paper tray can be adjusted to hold different size media, including envelopes. You may have to remove the paper and adjust the sliding paper guides inside the paper tray to match the envelopes.
AOO4/LO5 • Linux • Fedora 23
User avatar
acknak
Moderator
 
Posts: 22756
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 1:25 am
Location: USA:NJ:E3


Return to Templates

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests