Convert XML to Office Document

Creating a macro - Writing a Script - Using the API (OpenOffice Basic, Python, BeanShell, JavaScript)
nsamy

Convert XML to Office Document

Post by nsamy »

Hi Team,

I am new to open office and I have installed Open Office, Now I need to convert an XML to office document with OpenOffice API. Please guide me.\

Thanks.
OpenOffice 3.1 on Windows Vista / NeoOffice 2.2.3 with MacOS 10.4 / OpenOffice 2.4 on Ubuntu 9.04
Villeroy
Volunteer

Re: Convert XML to Office Document

Post by Villeroy »

Write an XSLT script to convert your XML to the correct ODF file type and install your script under Tools>"XML Filters". Then you simply open your files and save it as ODF file.
Please, edit this topic's initial post and add "[Solved]" to the subject line if your problem has been solved.
Ubuntu 18.04 with LibreOffice 6.0, latest OpenOffice and LibreOffice
nsamy

Post by nsamy »

Hi Villeroy, Thanks for your reply. Please elaborate the above process.
Since I am new to XSLT, Please let me know which tool should I use to write XSLT script ?
Should I save XML file as ODF file ?
OpenOffice 3.1 on Windows Vista / NeoOffice 2.2.3 with MacOS 10.4 / OpenOffice 2.4 on Ubuntu 9.04
Villeroy
Volunteer

Post by Villeroy »

Please, edit this topic's initial post and add "[Solved]" to the subject line if your problem has been solved.
Ubuntu 18.04 with LibreOffice 6.0, latest OpenOffice and LibreOffice
rudolfo
Volunteer

Post by rudolfo »

If you want to work with XSLT make sure you have the XSLT filters installed. You need to explicitly select them in customized installation mode, they won't get installed by default.
The XSLT processing in OpenOffice is based on Java tools, so it requires a correct setup of the Java Runtime (On MS Windows Java 6 and 32bit is working reliably with OOo, a 64bit Java cannot work with OOo).