[Solved] Macro to filter data in A.xls and insert into B.xls

Creating a macro - Writing a Script - Using the API (OpenOffice Basic, Python, BeanShell, JavaScript)
croko

[Solved] Macro to filter data in A.xls and insert into B.xls

Post by croko »

Lated edit: I manage to create the macro after some more research. Thanks.

Hello,

I'm new to macros world but I struggle to learn. I've did a lot of search on forum, Andrew's book, the macro documentation and Google but did not manage to find how to write a macro to run in LibreOffice macro for this case:

I have 2 different files (the real fiels have more than 10,000 rows with data) that I can open in LibreOffice (or OpenOffice is necessary):

Destination.xls = has up to 12 sheets, all sheets has 2 columns: "ProdID" and "Quantity", in all sheets column "ProdID" contain an unique number and column "Quantity" is empty.

Example of Destination.xls:
ProdID Quantity

Source.xls = has just one sheet with two colums "ProdID" and "Order", the "ProdID" column contain some of the unique ID numbers presented in Destination.xls as well and the column "Order" contain numbers.

Example of Source.xls:
ProdID Order
1 20
2 15
3 25
4 40
5 30

I need to open the Destination.xls with LibreOffice and run a macro to search each "ProdID" number from Destination.xls in Source.xls "ProdID" column and if it finds the "ProdID" it Source.xls to take the coresponding value from "Order" cell located in Source.xls file and populate it in the coresponding "Quantity" cell located in Destination.xls file.