[Solved] Macro in spreadsheet - syntax problem?

Creating a macro - Writing a Script - Using the API (OpenOffice Basic, Python, BeanShell, JavaScript)
spudtu

[Solved] Macro in spreadsheet - syntax problem?

Post by spudtu »

I am a beginning macro writer, with intermediate past programming experience. I studied OpenOffice help and forum for hours, Mr. Pitronyak's macro guide for more hours, but am stumped about a few things.

I'm having trouble getting function macros to operate in a spreadsheet. I got a couple to work, but as an example, I have this very simple, silly macro function below. If I click on "Run" it writes "hello" in the macro editor, but if I enter quadNE in a spreadsheet cell, I just get error #Name?.

What am I doing or not doing?

REM ***** BASIC *****

option EXPLICIT

function quadNE

quadNE="hello"
write quadNE

end function

Thanks if anyone has a clue!
Last edited by spudtu on Sat Sep 01, 2018 7:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Open Office 4.1.15 on Windows 11
Remind me to think before I code.
RoryOF

Re: macro in spreadsheet - syntax problem?

Post by RoryOF »

Apache OpenOffice 4.1.15 on Xubuntu 22.04.4 LTS
Zizi64
Volunteer

Post by Zizi64 »

Code: Select all

REM ***** BASIC *****

option EXPLICIT

function quadNE
quadNE="hello"
write quadNE
end function
1. Issue: The Write statement calls the function itself. It is a recursion without exit.
2. The Write statement needs more than one parameters. See it in the Basic HELP:
Write Statement [Runtime]
Writes data to a sequential file.
Syntax:
Write [#FileName], [Expressionlist]
Parameters:
FileName: A numeric expression that contains the file number that was set by the Open statement for the respective file.
ExpressionList: Variables or expressions that you want to be written to a file, separated by commas.
If the expression list is omitted, the Write statement appends an empty line to the file.