How to create a new template based document with a Macro?

Creating a macro - Writing a Script - Using the API (OpenOffice Basic, Python, BeanShell, JavaScript)
captorx

How to create a new template based document with a Macro?

Post by captorx »

Hello! I hope all you are having a great day!
I'm using Writer 2.4 .I created a new template named "HelloWorld.ott". When I want to write a new document using that template, I have to click: File/New Document/Templates/HelloWorld Of course this works quite fine. Now you may think I'm lazy but I have to use that template many times a day and it's a repetitive task, so I'm looking for a faster way to do it. I could set it as Default Template but that's not a solution because I also use other two templates very often.

I'm new to OpenOffice and I really want to get rid of the expensive micromonster. Usually, the main cause of desisting is that I know how to do something with Microsoft Office but I don't know how to do the same with OpenOffice. So I have two questions:

1) It would be great if I could have my HelloWorld templatet in the options of New Document. I mean, just click: File/New/HelloWorld (Just under Text Document Ctrl + N) Do you know a simple way to do this?

2) If 1) is not possible, then I tried by recording a Macro. The idea is to press a button and have a New Writer Document created using HelloWorld template. I tried recording the process of clicking File/New Document/Templates/HelloWorld. But when running the macro, it stops just before I selected HelloWorld template. :roll: I can't figure out the way to modify the script in order to select HelloWorld template. The script text is as follows:

Code: Select all

sub HelloWorld
rem ----------------------------------------------------------------------
rem define variables
dim document   as object
dim dispatcher as object
rem get access to the document
document   = ThisComponent.CurrentController.Frame