Complete newbie question, using OO with VB6

Creating a macro - Writing a Script - Using the API (OpenOffice Basic, Python, BeanShell, JavaScript)
akaTwoSheds

Complete newbie question, using OO with VB6

Post by akaTwoSheds »

Yes, VB6, the programming equivalent of communicating in grunts and shrieks - go ahead make your jokes now, I'll wait <g>.

It's a large system that we can't devote time to reworking at this time no matter how much I'd like to. The software in question is run off of USB flash drives which our sales guys tote around from client to client. One of the big requests that they have is the ability to generate spreadsheets with predefined charts from the data which they collect on site.

Here's where it gets tricky. They want to be able to do this on the fly at the clients location, and we can't assume that every PC they use will have MS Excel installed on it. I've toyed with the idea of including the Excel run times on the USB drive but the copyright ice there seems pretty thin so I haven't pursued it. Then today in a flash of desperation brilliance I thought of OO.

The first question is a technical one. Is it possible to use the Calc internals with VB6 without actually installing OO / Calc on the computer in question? We can register controls/DLLs if necessary, but installing an entire desktop package would be pushing our luck.

Second, and assuming that the answer to number one is a resounding "oh heck yes", before I take this idea to the big cheese, am I treading on shakey IP ground with it?

Finally, assuming that it's all yes's so far, are there any web sites, forums, or chiseled clay tablets passed from father to son through the generations that deal with integrating OO with the very ancient VB6?

Thanks a ton for any help or guidance...
OOo 2.3.X on Ms Windows XP
acknak

Re: Complete newbie question, using OO with VB6

Post by acknak »

[Moved to Macros and UNO API]