Visual Basic to OpenOffice Calc

Creating a macro - Writing a Script - Using the API (OpenOffice Basic, Python, BeanShell, JavaScript)
Texmanage

Visual Basic to OpenOffice Calc

Post by Texmanage »

I exporting the data from vb.net application to open office calc. each column have different datatypes. how to set datatype for particular cell. All columns setting as text.
Also how to set cell border. Im new to this open office coding. if possible someone can provide a sample application.
OpenOffice 3.1 on Windows 7
Villeroy
Volunteer

Re: Visual Basic to Open Office Calc

Post by Villeroy »

A Calc spreadsheet knows text and numbers (double precision floating point numbers) as the only two data types. Formuals may return error values as a third data type. Everything is stored as doubles unless it is text. MS Excel knows booleans as another type. In Calc booleans are stored as 0 and 1. Floating point numbers with no decimals are displayed as integers. Dates are day numbers. Times are fractions of days. Every single cell can have any data type. There are no database fields nor database records in a spreadsheet. There are not even tables since any rectangle of cells can be used as a table and there can be many such rectangles on the same sheet and you may use cells without any tabular structure. In other words: spreadsheets are no databases, no matter how hard people try to misuse spreadsheets as databases.

The Base component can be connected to a wide variety of databases via ODBC or JDBC. The Base component serves as a bridge between connected databases on one side and office documents (text and spreadsheet) on the other side. Once you have a database connection, it is very easy to pull data into Calc sheets and Calc pivot tables. Pivot tables are the maximum of database functionality you can get from a spreadsheet if the source is a database or a database-like rectangle of sheet cells.