[Solved] Link to external data won't work do I need a Macro?

Creating a macro - Writing a Script - Using the API

[Solved] Link to external data won't work do I need a Macro?

Postby skiguide » Thu Mar 23, 2017 5:48 am

I'm semi-new to this stuff, but very much a self taught sort of spreadsheet user.
I'm just trying to link to an external HTML table:
http://mesowest.utah.edu/cgi-bin/droman ... type=LOCAL
Seems pretty easy really but every iteration i try is a fail.
If i copy (all of the web page) and paste it (into a sheet) i get what i am looking for, so I know the tables are in there. Is there some simple little thing I am missing?
When i use this web page:
http://www.jhavalanche.org/viewBigsheet
I can link these tables, so I know I'm doing the process right to some degree.
I messed around with copying the page and then trying to use a MacroRecording of the SpecialPaste function -but that is a lot work and not to mentin cluncky method to do what seems to be a simple thing...
Last edited by skiguide on Sun Mar 26, 2017 1:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Open Office 4.1.3 on ArchLinux
skiguide
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Mar 23, 2017 4:23 am

Re: Link to external data... wont work do i need a Macro?

Postby Zizi64 » Thu Mar 23, 2017 9:43 am

I'm just trying to link to an external HTML table:
http://mesowest.utah.edu/cgi-bin/droman ... type=LOCAL
Seems pretty easy really but every iteration i try is a fail.
If i copy (all of the web page) and paste it (into a sheet) i get what i am looking for, so I know the tables are in there. Is there some simple little thing I am missing?


Use the menu item
Insert - Link to external data - Type in or paste the URL of the Webpage,
hit ENTER,
wait a few seconds,
set the parameters in the appeared small panel,
then hhoose a tabe from the appeared table list,
Click on OK.

If the Web table is HTML based, the data will appeared. But when the table was made with other technology, the data link will not work.
Your link points to the Main frame of the webpage, but the data tables are located on an another frame:
http://mesowest.utah.edu/cgi-bin/droman ... =0&order=1
Try to use that URL.
Tibor Kovacs, Hungary; LibreOffice4.4.7 - Portable versions: LO3.3.0-LO5.3.1 and AOO4.1.3; on Win7x64Prof.
Please, edit the topic's initial post, and add the word "[Solved]" at the beginning of the subject line - if your problem has been solved.
User avatar
Zizi64
Volunteer
 
Posts: 4976
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 7:55 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Re: Link to external data... wont work do i need a Macro?

Postby skiguide » Sun Mar 26, 2017 1:47 am

Zizi64

That worked perfectly! I've struggled with this and done the import by hand for the past 2 years... now it's a linked table and i just open the spreadsheet and i get updates!!

It turns out that it was not my understanding of the links process but rather how to sort out the web address. So my attempt with:(https://) removed
mesowest.utah.edu/cgi-bin/droman/meso_base_dyn.cgi?stn=REY&unit=0&timetype=LOCAL

should have been:
mesowest.utah.edu/cgi-bin/droman/meso_table_mesodyn.cgi?stn=REY&unit=0&time=&hours=25&hour1=00&day1=0&month1=&year1=&radius=25&past=0&order=1

looking at the page source i see how to find the address for the table source!

Next I'm going to figure out how to link txt files!

cheers
Bill
Open Office 4.1.3 on ArchLinux
skiguide
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Mar 23, 2017 4:23 am

(SOLVED) Link to external data... wont work do i need a Macr

Postby skiguide » Sun Mar 26, 2017 1:53 am

Thanks again
Open Office 4.1.3 on ArchLinux
skiguide
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Mar 23, 2017 4:23 am


Return to Macros and UNO API

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests