Error using ThisComponent on startup

Creating a macro - Writing a Script - Using the API (OpenOffice Basic, Python, BeanShell, JavaScript)
MokeyIB

Error using ThisComponent on startup

Post by MokeyIB »

I am trying to replace a HUGE formula that keeps getting bigger as I add sheets with my first macro function. I am a programmer. It's a simple recursive function. I'm trying to find the first occurrence of a name searching back through successive sheets until it is found. The function works properly when I insert it into a cell. But when I save, close, and reopen my spreadsheet, I get an error like "BASIC runtime error. Property or method not found: getSheets". I'm guessing this is because ThisComponent is not initialized yet. I've tried searching this forum and the internet in general, but can't find anything helpful even though this should be a common problem if I'm not doing something stupid.

Here is a simple function that gives the same error. It gets the name of the current sheet.

Code: Select all

Function SheetName( SheetNum As Integer )
SheetName = ThisComponent.getSheets.getByIndex(SheetNum-1).getName()
End Function
I call it using:

=SheetName(sheet())
in a cell

Even if this is not the best way to get the name of the current sheet, I still need to figure out how to access ThisComponent for my recursive function. Here's the code for my recursive function in case that helps. It's called using =FindName("name", sheet()) (which starts the search on the next sheet, since sheet() starts counting at 1 and getByIndex() starts counting at 0).

Function FindName( Name As String, CurSheet As Integer )
If Name = "" Then
  FindName = ""
Else
  FindName = FindNameInSheet(Name, CurSheet)
End If
End Function

Function FindNameInSheet( Name As String, SheetNum As Integer )
LastSheet = ThisComponent.getSheets().Count
If SheetNum = LastSheet Then
  FindNameInSheet = ""
Else
  Sheet = ThisComponent.getSheets().getByIndex(SheetNum)