Need Macro to Open CSV File, Graph, Save File

Creating a macro - Writing a Script - Using the API (OpenOffice Basic, Python, BeanShell, JavaScript)
JFraser

Need Macro to Open CSV File, Graph, Save File

Post by JFraser »

Hi,

I am new to macros and have a project that needs to be completed. I have found some useful code such as opening and saving, but I have a long ways to go.

The macro needs to:
1. Run on OO Calc open
2. Display dialog box to open csv file into sheet 2 (number of sample points will vary form file to file)
3. Graph data (x-y lines only) on sheet 1 using Y1 and Y2 as legend and inserting X, Y, and title names
4. Save to a new file (original file must be kept so the process can be repeated)

It would be nice to:
Import second set of csv data and plot on same graph as csv data 1 so the two can be compared
Have multiple y axis legends for Y1, Y2, etc..
Have a variable number of input columns (Y1, Y2, Y3, etc..)

Input Format
X,Y1,Y2

Thanks for your help
OpenOffice 3.2 on Windows XP
rudolfo
Volunteer

Re: Need Macro to Open CSV File, Graph, Save File

Post by rudolfo »

I guess you can mark your step 1 and 4 as done if you say you found code for opening and saving.
You may have a look at thread http://user.services.openoffice.org/en/ ... 45&t=30963 to get an idea and some sample code for the graph/chart step.
Using a custom dialog box is not a easy thing if you start with OOo macros. I always decide to avoid the extra hassle and go for a poor man solution: Use a sheet on its own with named references for the 4 or 5 cells that I need to specify input parameters for the macro and read the content of these cells at the beginning of the macro.

I hope this keeps you going.
OpenOffice 3.1.1 (2.4.3 until October 2009) and LibreOffice 3.3.2 on Windows 2000, AOO 3.4.1 on Windows 7
There are several macro languages in OOo, but none of them is called Visual Basic or VB(A)! Please call it OOo Basic, Star Basic or simply Basic.
Villeroy
Volunteer