[Solved] Macro with alternative searches and replacements

Creating a macro - Writing a Script - Using the API (OpenOffice Basic, Python, BeanShell, JavaScript)
Davidcannon65

[Solved] Macro with alternative searches and replacements

Post by Davidcannon65 »

I'm new to this game. I'm trying to make a macro for a text full of initials, to be replaced with full names.

This is what I've written :

args1(10).Name = "SearchItem.SearchString"
args1(10).Value = "([FDR])\1([JFK])\2|([LBJ])\3"
args1(11).Name = "SearchItem.ReplaceString"
args1(11).Value = "[Franklin D. Roosevelt]$1|[John F. Kenney]$2|[Lyndon B. Johnson]$3"

Replacing FDR with Franklin D. Roosevelt, JFK with John F. Kennedy, and LBJ with Lyndon B. Johnson. But it DOES NOT WORK. Can you please tell me what I'm doing wrong? Thanks!
Last edited by Hagar Delest on Sun Oct 03, 2021 6:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Tagged [Solved].
OpenOffice 4.1.10 on Windows 8.1
RoryOF

Re: Macro with alternative searches and replacements

Post by RoryOF »

Why bother with a macro? Three separate searches using Find and Replace and the job is done - perhaps two minutes total. Much quicker than writing and debugging a macro.

If your problem is actually knowing why the macro doesn't work, you need to consult Andrew Pitonyak's macro books, which is where anyone helping will probably start.
Apache OpenOffice 4.1.15 on Xubuntu 22.04.4 LTS
Zizi64
Volunteer

Post by Zizi64 »

And - if you want to substitute the initial string to full names while you typing them -, you can use the Autocorrect feature.
Tibor Kovacs, Hungary; LO7.5.8 /Win7-10 x64Prof.
PortableApps/winPenPack: LO3.3.0-7.6.2;AOO4.1.14
Please, edit the initial post in the topic: add the word [Solved] at the beginning of the subject line - if your problem has been solved.
John_Ha
Volunteer

Post by John_Ha »