[Solved][Calc] Bugged duplicates detector requires expertise

Creating a macro - Writing a Script - Using the API (OpenOffice Basic, Python, BeanShell, JavaScript)
ooGuillaume

[Solved][Calc] Bugged duplicates detector requires expertise

Post by ooGuillaume »

Hello,

I'm using LibreOffice 6.2.7.1 Calc on Xubuntu 18.04.

An association I'm a volunteer for has a spreadsheet "database" for subscribers to their workshop. I understand it's not good practice to use Calc for this, but at the moment we don't have the knowledge and/or taskforce to learn and use better tools.
I'd managed, thanks to the help from people on these boards, to add a duplicates detector for first name, last name and email, using Similarity Search.

It worked for a while, but a bug now makes it unusable. I've narrowed the issue down in a test file with easy steps to reproduce the bug.
I'm very bad at debugging, hence the need for help. :) I'm also a beginner in Basic code, and I'm pretty sure my macros require modifications in order to make them "safe".

Here it goes:
  1. make sure macros are enabled before or on opening the attached file BaseAdherentsTest.ods
  2. open the file
  3. in sheet "Adhérents", fill columns A, B and C on row 5 with eg "Jack", "Smith" and "jack@smith.com"
  4. see that columns D and E get populated automatically (these columns are usually hidden and used for the duplicates search)
  5. select cell C5 ("jack@smith.com")
  6. press Delete
  7. LibreOffice Calc should crash with unexpected error
The bug doesn't occur when deleting the second sheet in the file, named "Comptages annuels", before deleting cell C5 on step 5.

Hoping this is enough information to help you help me, please ask if more is needed. :)

Thank you.
Attachments
BaseAdherentsTest.ods
(47.81 KiB) Downloaded 180 times
Last edited by ooGuillaume on Sat Aug 07, 2021 9:55 am, edited 1 time in total.
LibreOffice 6.2.7.1 on Xubuntu 18.04
JeJe
Volunteer