[Solved] How to store the result of copy in a variable

Creating a macro - Writing a Script - Using the API (OpenOffice Basic, Python, BeanShell, JavaScript)
Alkemiisto

[Solved] How to store the result of copy in a variable

Post by Alkemiisto »

Hi.

I'm new here.
And I'm just a beginner in OpenOffice Macros.

I'm trying to copy some words from a text and attribute them to some variables.

I'm using:
dim args1(1) as new com.sun.star.beans.PropertyValue
args1(0).Name = "Count"
args1(0).Value = 1 ' or other number of letters
args1(1).Name = "Select"
args1(1).Value = true
dispatcher.executeDispatch(document, ".uno:GoRight", "", 0, args1())
rem ----------------------------------------------------------------------
dispatcher.executeDispatch(document, ".uno:Copy", "", 0, Array())

CopyResult$ = ' where to I get the result of Copy?

So, how can I attribute the result of "copy" to a variable?

Thanks in advance.
Last edited by MrProgrammer on Tue Jul 13, 2021 3:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Tagged ✓ [Solved]
OpenOffice 4.1.10 on Windows 10
FJCC

Re: How to attribute the result of copy to a variable

Post by FJCC »

You are trying to use the dispatch calls from recorded macros to write your own macro and that is probably not a good idea. User-written macros should use the Application Programming Interface (API). A good source for information about that is here.
Can you explain what you are trying to accomplish? It looks like you want to do something with the currently selected text.
OpenOffice 4.1 on Windows 10 and Linux Mint
If your question is answered, please go to your first post, select the Edit button, and add [Solved] to the beginning of the title.
MrProgrammer

Post by MrProgrammer »

Alkemiisto wrote:
dim args1(1) as new com.sun.star.beans.PropertyValue
args1(0).Name = "Count"  : args1(0).Value = 1 
args1(1).Name = "Select" : args1(1).Value = true
dispatcher.executeDispatch(document, ".uno:GoRight", "", 0, args1())