[Solved] Screen Shot

Issues installing under the Mac OSX - X11 - Aqua

[Solved] Screen Shot

Postby robglass » Mon Mar 26, 2018 6:28 pm

Whereas FireFox 59.0.1 has a nifty "Take Screenshot" utility on its toolbar ( replacing Command + Option + 4 ), I can find no take screenshot/screen capture function for Open Office.
Does OO have a screen shot utility ? A series of steps to achieve a screen shot ?

Thanks !

Rob Glass

OS 10.13.1
Last edited by robleyd on Wed Mar 28, 2018 5:12 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Tagged [Solved] [robleyd, Moderator]
OpenOffice 4.1.5 and FireFox 60.0.1 on MacOS 10.13.4
robglass
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 5:04 am

Re: Screen Shot

Postby RusselB » Mon Mar 26, 2018 9:03 pm

Not being familiar with a Mac, I don't know if you would have the keys I would use available.
On my Windows system, I would press Ctrl+Shift+PrtSc
On my keyboard, that last key is located immediately to the right of the F12 key. It's also marked SysRq
If you have a PrtSc (or similar) key on your keyboard, you could try the sequence described.
On my Windows system, it creates a copy of what it on the screen, and places it into the clipboard memory, so if I want to use it, I then have to paste the image into another program.
OpenOffice 4.1.4 and LibreOffice 5.2.7.2 on Windows 7 Pro & Ultimate
If you believe your problem has been resolved, please go to your first post in this topic, click the Edit button and add [Solved] to the beginning of the Subject line.
RusselB
Volunteer
 
Posts: 4365
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2014 7:31 am
Location: Sarnia, ON

Re: Screen Shot

Postby Bill » Mon Mar 26, 2018 10:08 pm

A Google search for "mac take screenshot" should find an answer.
AOO 4.1.5 and LO 6.0.3.2 on Manjaro MATE
Bill
Volunteer
 
Posts: 6681
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2007 6:48 am

Re: Screen Shot

Postby Zizi64 » Mon Mar 26, 2018 10:14 pm

In my Win7 op.sys.:
- "Print screen" key to put whole screen content onto the clipboard,
- "Alt-Print screen" keys to put the content of the active window onto the clipboard.
Tibor Kovacs, Hungary; LO4.4.7, LO5.4.7 on Win7x64Prof.
PortableApps, winPenPack: LO3.3.0-LO6.0.4 and AOO4.1.5
Please, edit the initial post in the topic: add the word [Solved] at the beginning of the subject line - if your problem has been solved.
User avatar
Zizi64
Volunteer
 
Posts: 6711
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 7:55 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Re: Screen Shot

Postby MrProgrammer » Tue Mar 27, 2018 1:29 am

robglass wrote:Does OO have a screen shot utility?
No. It makes no sense to build a screen capture facility in every individual application.

robglass wrote:A series of steps to achieve a screen shot?
Use Mac OS X: see Finder → Help → Search → Screenshot → Topic → Take pictures of the screen. For my version (OS X 10.9.5) it says to use Shift-Command (⌘)-3. Since you don't know how to do this after using your Mac for quite a while, it suggests to me that you should go to your local library and borrow one of the many "Intro to Mac"-type books. Even one several years old will do since the basics of using Mac OS X haven't changed much in ten years.

If this solved your problem please go to your first post use the Edit button and add [Solved] to the start of the title. You can select the green checkmark icon at the same time.

[Tutorial] Mac FAQ
Mr. Programmer
AOO 4.1.5 Build 9789 on Mac OS X 10.9.5.   The locale for any menus or Calc formulas in my posts is English (USA).
User avatar
MrProgrammer
Volunteer
 
Posts: 3328
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 7:57 pm
Location: Wisconsin, USA

SOLVED

Postby robglass » Tue Mar 27, 2018 5:21 pm

Dear Guys,

I had forgotten the keyboard shortcut ( Command+Shift+3 ) kindly suggested by MrProgrammer.

Thank you all for your helpful advise ! :super:

Rob Glass
OpenOffice 4.1.5 and FireFox 60.0.1 on MacOS 10.13.4
robglass
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 5:04 am


Return to Mac OSX

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests