[Solved] Screen Shot

Issues installing under the Mac OSX - X11 - Aqua

[Solved] Screen Shot

Postby robglass » Mon Mar 26, 2018 6:28 pm

Whereas FireFox 59.0.1 has a nifty "Take Screenshot" utility on its toolbar ( replacing Command + Option + 4 ), I can find no take screenshot/screen capture function for Open Office.
Does OO have a screen shot utility ? A series of steps to achieve a screen shot ?

Thanks !

Rob Glass

OS 10.13.1
Last edited by robleyd on Wed Mar 28, 2018 5:12 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Tagged [Solved] [robleyd, Moderator]
OpenOffice 4.1.5 and FireFox 60.0.1 on MacOS 10.13.4
robglass
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 5:04 am

Re: Screen Shot

Postby RusselB » Mon Mar 26, 2018 9:03 pm

Not being familiar with a Mac, I don't know if you would have the keys I would use available.
On my Windows system, I would press Ctrl+Shift+PrtSc
On my keyboard, that last key is located immediately to the right of the F12 key. It's also marked SysRq
If you have a PrtSc (or similar) key on your keyboard, you could try the sequence described.
On my Windows system, it creates a copy of what it on the screen, and places it into the clipboard memory, so if I want to use it, I then have to paste the image into another program.
OpenOffice 4.1.4 and LibreOffice 5.2.7.2 on Windows 7 Pro & Ultimate
If you believe your problem has been resolved, please go to your first post in this topic, click the Edit button and add [Solved] to the beginning of the Subject line.
RusselB
Volunteer
 
Posts: 4460
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2014 7:31 am
Location: Sarnia, ON

Re: Screen Shot

Postby Bill » Mon Mar 26, 2018 10:08 pm

A Google search for "mac take screenshot" should find an answer.
AOO 4.1.5 and LO 6.0.3.2 on Manjaro MATE
Bill
Volunteer
 
Posts: 6765
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2007 6:48 am

Re: Screen Shot

Postby Zizi64 » Mon Mar 26, 2018 10:14 pm

In my Win7 op.sys.:
- "Print screen" key to put whole screen content onto the clipboard,
- "Alt-Print screen" keys to put the content of the active window onto the clipboard.
Tibor Kovacs, Hungary; LO4.4.7, LO5.4.7 on Win7x64Prof.
PortableApps, winPenPack: LO3.3.0-LO6.1.0 and AOO4.1.5
Please, edit the initial post in the topic: add the word [Solved] at the beginning of the subject line - if your problem has been solved.
User avatar
Zizi64
Volunteer
 
Posts: 6999
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 7:55 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Re: Screen Shot

Postby MrProgrammer » Tue Mar 27, 2018 1:29 am

robglass wrote:Does OO have a screen shot utility?
No. It makes no sense to build a screen capture facility in every individual application.

robglass wrote:A series of steps to achieve a screen shot?
Use Mac OS X: see Finder → Help → Search → Screenshot → Topic → Take pictures of the screen. For my version (OS X 10.9.5) it says to use Shift-Command (⌘)-3. Since you don't know how to do this after using your Mac for quite a while, it suggests to me that you should go to your local library and borrow one of the many "Intro to Mac"-type books. Even one several years old will do since the basics of using Mac OS X haven't changed much in ten years.

If this solved your problem please go to your first post use the Edit button and add [Solved] to the start of the title. You can select the green checkmark icon at the same time.

[Tutorial] Mac FAQ
Mr. Programmer
AOO 4.1.5 Build 9789 on Mac OS 10.11.6.   The locale for any menus or Calc formulas in my posts is English (USA).
User avatar
MrProgrammer
Volunteer
 
Posts: 3416
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 7:57 pm
Location: Wisconsin, USA

SOLVED

Postby robglass » Tue Mar 27, 2018 5:21 pm

Dear Guys,

I had forgotten the keyboard shortcut ( Command+Shift+3 ) kindly suggested by MrProgrammer.

Thank you all for your helpful advise ! :super:

Rob Glass
OpenOffice 4.1.5 and FireFox 60.0.1 on MacOS 10.13.4
robglass
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 5:04 am


Return to Mac OSX

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests