Page 1 of 1

[Solved] Can't copy in OOo then paste to any other ap

PostPosted: Thu Jun 26, 2008 3:10 pm
by officebob
I'm having a devil of a time copying the contents of a cell then pasting it to a non-Open Office ap. I've tried changing the format of the cell to text, copying the edit field vs. the cell itself, and screwed around with it in general for a couple of hours but no luck.

If I copy the cell and paste it to an office text doc, it'll paste it as a single-cell table. I need, however, to paste it to a web browser field, among other non-office aps.

I've got no problem copying it from cell to cell, or from cell to Text Doc, but it seems like Office has a separate clipboard than the rest of my system.

I'm running Mac Leopard w/ Office 2.4

Thanks!!!!

Added later: it seems I can't cut or copy anything in OOo then paste it in any non-OOo ap. It's like OOo has it's own clipboard that will not cross over into other applications.

Solution: Download and use Aqua. This fixes the issue.

Re: Copying calc cell then pasting in another ap

PostPosted: Thu Jun 26, 2008 3:28 pm
by Villeroy
What do you copy (number, text)?What happens, what do you get when you paste?

Re: Copying calc cell then pasting in another ap

PostPosted: Thu Jun 26, 2008 3:33 pm
by officebob
Villeroy wrote:What do you copy (number, text)?What happens, what do you get when you paste?


It doesn't seem to matter what I copy-- numbers, text, URL's...

When I copy in calc then try to paste in any non-office ap, I get whatever is in the clipboard from the last time I copied in a non-office ap. It's like Office and OSX use two different clipboards.

Thanks!

Re: Copying calc cell then pasting in another ap

PostPosted: Thu Jun 26, 2008 3:42 pm
by Dave
Paste special ...unformatted text?

David.

Re: Copying calc cell then pasting in another ap

PostPosted: Thu Jun 26, 2008 3:46 pm
by officebob
Dave wrote:Paste special ...unformatted text?

David.


Thanks, but that command is for pasting within office aps. I'm trying to paste office data to a non-office ap, like Safari or Mail.

Re: Copying calc cell then pasting in another ap

PostPosted: Thu Jun 26, 2008 3:48 pm
by Villeroy
officebob wrote:
Villeroy wrote:What do you copy (number, text)?What happens, what do you get when you paste?


It doesn't seem to matter what I copy-- numbers, text, URL's...

When I copy in calc then try to paste in any non-office ap, I get whatever is in the clipboard from the last time I copied in a non-office ap. It's like Office and OSX use two different clipboards.

Thanks!

This is really surprising. I never used a Mac with OOo. Could it be that OOo runs under a thingy called "X-Server"? It could be that this type of environment is separated from the environment provided directly by your operating system.
Oh, btw: Same issue when you copy from Writer to another app?

Re: Copying calc cell then pasting in another ap

PostPosted: Thu Jun 26, 2008 4:30 pm
by officebob
Villeroy wrote:
officebob wrote:
Villeroy wrote:What do you copy (number, text)?What happens, what do you get when you paste?


It doesn't seem to matter what I copy-- numbers, text, URL's...

When I copy in calc then try to paste in any non-office ap, I get whatever is in the clipboard from the last time I copied in a non-office ap. It's like Office and OSX use two different clipboards.

Thanks!

This is really surprising. I never used a Mac with OOo. Could it be that OOo runs under a thingy called "X-Server"? It could be that this type of environment is separated from the environment provided directly by your operating system.
Oh, btw: Same issue when you copy from Writer to another app?


Perhaps X-Server is the culprit, but I'm not technically skilled enough to know.

I get the same issue no matter what OOo ap I'm using-- you can't copy or cut inside OOo then paste outside of OOo. Again, it seems like there's two separate clipboards in play.

Re: Can't copy in OOo then paste to any other ap (Mac OSx)

PostPosted: Thu Jun 26, 2008 4:45 pm
by Villeroy
OK, I'll move this thread to the Mac-forum below "Setup and Troubleshooting". Searching for "clipboard" in that forum I found some related threads such as viewtopic.php?f=17&t=3588

Re: Copying calc cell then pasting in another ap

PostPosted: Thu Jun 26, 2008 7:20 pm
by Dave
officebob wrote:
Dave wrote:Paste special ...unformatted text?

David.


Thanks, but that command is for pasting within office aps. I'm trying to paste office data to a non-office ap, like Safari or Mail.


Sorry. I was referring to your "If I copy the cell and paste it to an office text doc, it'll paste it as a single-cell table."

David.