[Solved] Best version to install on a Mac PPC?

Issues installing under the Mac OSX - X11 - Aqua
threefalls

[Solved] Best version to install on a Mac PPC?

Post by threefalls »

I am new to Open Office. I installed it fine on my PC (boo hiss) and am now trying to install it on my MAC.

I am trying to figure out which version of OOo to install on a Mac PPC running OSX 10.5.4.
If I go to OpenOffice download and pick the "Get more platforms and languages, non-JRE versions" at the bottom of the download choice I get the big list of 20+ different languages and 10 different platforms. When I pick Mac OSX PPC I can download "OOo_2.4.0_MacOSXPPC_install_en-US.dmg"
So Far So good.
If I dig a little bit and click on the "Installation Instructions" in the sidebar and pick Apple I find that there is an "Apple OSx Aqua" which tells me that if I have OSx 10.4 or newer I can download "Aqua for Intel" or "Aqua for PowerPC"
The Aqua for PowerPC says that 3.1 was released in May of 2009 and when I click on download I get hundreds of download choices!!!
If I carefully dig some more I find "OOo_3.1.0rc2_20090424_MacOSXPowerPC_install.dmg" which is about the same size as the 2.4.0 version.

SO
what is the best version to use?
SHould I write to someone to tell them that the Aqua for PowerPC does not seem to go to the correct link?
I see that Aqua is at a "port" url. Is Aqua different from regular OpenOffice?

Jon S.
Worcester, VT

I've split this post from the original thread. Very few would see it tucked away at the back of the other thread. (The Gurkha, Moderator).
Last edited by Hagar Delest on Tue Sep 01, 2009 4:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: tagged [Solved].
OOo 2.4.X on Mac OSx Leopard + MS Windows XP
lgusaas
Volunteer

Re: Best version to install on a Mac PPC?

Post by lgusaas »

OO.o 2.4.x requires X11 to run on a Mac.
Aqua it the Mac native interface.
OO.o 3.1.0 uses the native Mac interface and does not need to use X11.