[Dropped] Opening letters to send starts TextEdit, not AOO

Issues installing under the Mac OSX - X11 - Aqua
Traff

[Dropped] Opening letters to send starts TextEdit, not AOO

Post by Traff »

I have been using Open Office for many years without problem
I uploaded the latest version and have a problem
I use it as a spreadsheet and also to send letters by e mail
When I try and open letters to send I am taken to Text Edit and cannot find a way to send it
I am using a Mac running on 10 15 7 by the way
Is there any way I can open and send these files as I used to do
Last edited by MrProgrammer on Tue Mar 02, 2021 6:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: No response from OP after a week
Open office 3.1
MrProgrammer

Re: Problem sending files

Post by MrProgrammer »

Traff wrote:I use [OpenOffice] as a spreadsheet and also to send letters by e mail
The components of OpenOffice are: Writer, Calc, Impress, Draw, Base, and Math. OpenOffice is not an email program, however it can interface with one. You open the document with OpenOffice and use the File → Send menu. For that to work, option Internet → E-mail → Email program must be set correctly. Options are set with OpenOffice → Preferences. The standard setting for MacOS is /Applications/Mail.app. You will have to configure Mail to work with your email service. Use an Apple forum if you need assistance configuring Mail.

Another, more basic, method to send email involves neither OpenOffice nor TextEdit. Just save the document to disk, then start your email program and attach the file to your message. The method used to attach a file will depend on your email program, of course. If it is Apple's Mail application, review Apple's instructions. For a different program, you'll have to read their documentation.
Traff wrote:When I try and open letters to send I am taken to Text Edit and cannot find a way to send it