Install on ChaletOS? Need a different version of Linux?

Issues with installing under all GNU/Linux Distributions
Txagclan

Install on ChaletOS? Need a different version of Linux?

Post by Txagclan »

While I am not a newbie, it has been some 30 years since I have installed a Linux system. My son found a version called ChaletOS. That is what we have installed, and in every other regard, ChaletOS is working wonderfully.

I have done everything here:
https://www.openoffice.org/download/com ... preinstall

But all I get are errors

I am not stupid but I am 30 years behind the times and I have PTSD. FYI, I have installed OpenOffice on countless computers on probably every version of Windows during this time frame, without any problems.

I will need to do this (wipe the computer entirely, install Linux, and install OpenOffice) on 3 different computers, so the instructions need to be repeatable. I understand help in here is just for OpenOffice, but if I need to choose a different Linux system, y'all would know. I certainly don't care what version of Linux we use, but I **DO** need OpenOffice to work properly.

Since so much has changed in 30 years, please give me instructions as if I never saw a computer before (PTSD makes things harder to understand because I get overwhelmed).

Thank you most kindly, in advance.

Texie
Texie
Openoffice 4.1.6 Linux x86-64
RoryOF

Re: Install on ChaletOS? Need a different version of Linux?

Post by RoryOF »

My preference is to install the Xubuntu version of linux - just go with the defaults.

It will install a version of LibreOffice; for most purposes this will not be very different from OpenOffice. If you really want OpenOffice then install by the following commands:

In a Terminal type

Code: Select all

sudo purge libreoffice*
Do not omit the * at the end of the command.

From http://www.openoffice.org/download/