Launcher misbehavior in user account

Issues with installing under all GNU/Linux Distributions
ld3

Launcher misbehavior in user account

Post by ld3 »

Hi everyone. I'm new to Ubuntu (version 16.04 LTS), but not to OpenOffice (vs. 4.1.3).

My problem looks a little similar to another topic that has already been posted. However, it is not exactly the same, and I did not really understand the answers provided anyway.

I have installed the suite onto my computer. Everything works fine from my (root) user account.

However, I have some troubles with my wife's user account.

When I open any of the programs, or even the main OpenOffice launcher, the program opens and appears functional. However, the appropriate icon disappears after about a second from the launcher bar. It is replaced by the Writer icon. I can lock this icon to the launcher. As would be expected, when I click on this icon, it opens the Writer program. After having the writer icon locked to the launcher, I can start any of the other programs from the GUI. However, the icon quickly disappears again, and the Writer icon is now selected.

I would prefer to solve this within the GUI if possible. I have learned some terminal commands, but have only been at this for about a week. I do not know any other computer languages.

Thank you in advance for for your help.
OpenOffice 4.1.3 on Ubuntu 16.04
RoryOF

Re: Launcher misbehavior in user account

Post by RoryOF »

I defined a new User in Xubuntu (with default user rights) and logged in as that user. OpenOffice opened correctly and behaved properly.
Apache OpenOffice 4.1.15 on Xubuntu 22.04.4 LTS
ld3

Post by ld3 »

Thank you, RoryOF. I'm using Ubuntu. As I understand it, Xubuntu is an Ubuntu-derivative operating system. So would I need to completely set up a new operating system again to get this working right? If so, I'd prefer to stay with standard Ubuntu for the time being.