[Solved] Making Gnome application menus in 3.4 Beta

Issues with installing under all Linux Distributions

[Solved] Making Gnome application menus in 3.4 Beta

Postby patfla » Wed Oct 12, 2011 9:36 pm

I was using the 3.3 release of OO on CentOS 5.7 and I experienced lots of instability. In particular a .so associated with OpenOffice kept going missing from somewhere under /usr/lib64.

So, on a chance, upgraded to 3.4 Beta. The libraries seems to have moved to under one or both of /opt/ooo-dev and /opt/ooo-dev3 and 3.4 is proving very stable.

3.3 had a script or something (don't remember the details) under /usr/share/openoffice.org for making the gnome menus.

The OO menu items are now (3.4) gone from under Applications | Office and I haven't found a script with which to restore them?

Pat
Last edited by patfla on Fri Oct 14, 2011 11:35 pm, edited 4 times in total.
OpenOffice 3.4 Beta on Centos 5.7 Final
patfla
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2011 9:29 pm

Re: no script for making gnome application menus in 3.4 Beta

Postby Hagar Delest » Wed Oct 12, 2011 9:50 pm

Hi and welcome to the forum!

There is no integration packages for the betas to avoid using them for production. You've to create the menus yourselves.

Please add '[Solved]' at the beginning of your first post title (edit button) if your issue has been fixed.
AOO 4.1.7 on Xubuntu 20.04 and 4.1.5 on Windows 10 (with winPenPack port).
User avatar
Hagar Delest
Moderator
 
Posts: 28919
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 9:07 pm
Location: France

Re: No script for making Gnome application menus in 3.4 Beta

Postby patfla » Wed Oct 12, 2011 9:55 pm

Thanks. So can you get me started on how I create the menus for myself? I'd been off of Linux for several years and am only now back on.
OpenOffice 3.4 Beta on Centos 5.7 Final
patfla
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2011 9:29 pm

Re: No script for making Gnome application menus in 3.4 Beta

Postby acknak » Wed Oct 12, 2011 10:17 pm

... a .so associated with OpenOffice kept going missing from somewhere under /usr/lib64.

I don't know about CentOS, but on Fedora, this happens when you have both the Fedora-packaged OOo and the OO.org packages installed at the same time. When the next update of the system OOo happens, some parts of the OO.org install are removed.

I always recommend that people stick with their distro's OOo packages, unless there is some specific reason to use the OO.org download. And for sure, don't install both unless you know what you're doing.
AOO4/LO5 • Linux • Fedora 23
User avatar
acknak
Moderator
 
Posts: 22756
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 1:25 am
Location: USA:NJ:E3

Re: No script for making Gnome application menus in 3.4 Beta

Postby Hagar Delest » Wed Oct 12, 2011 10:26 pm

Ah, menus with Gnome! I've had menus problems too with that!
You've to tweak the application.menu files. You should google for "change gnome menu" and get some results, especially with the freedesktop pages.
For example:
http://library.gnome.org/admin/system-a ... -2.html.en
http://standards.freedesktop.org/menu-s ... troduction

Good luck!
AOO 4.1.7 on Xubuntu 20.04 and 4.1.5 on Windows 10 (with winPenPack port).
User avatar
Hagar Delest
Moderator
 
Posts: 28919
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 9:07 pm
Location: France

Re: No script for making Gnome application menus in 3.4 Beta

Postby patfla » Thu Oct 13, 2011 7:11 pm

OK - thanks.
OpenOffice 3.4 Beta on Centos 5.7 Final
patfla
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2011 9:29 pm

Re: No script for making Gnome application menus in 3.4 Beta

Postby patfla » Thu Oct 13, 2011 7:14 pm

So how do I close this out (mark it as answered)?
OpenOffice 3.4 Beta on Centos 5.7 Final
patfla
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2011 9:29 pm

Re: No script for making Gnome application menus in 3.4 Beta

Postby Robert Tucker » Thu Oct 13, 2011 7:36 pm

On Fedora I've found that you can add to the menus using alacarte as before. Once you've done so it appears in the Applications in the new Gnome format.

[I think you can mark the thread solved by editing your first post.]
LibreOffice 6.x.x on Fedora 32 and Ubuntu 20.04 (Dual Boot)
User avatar
Robert Tucker
Volunteer
 
Posts: 1247
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 1:34 am
Location: Manchester UK

Re: [Solved] Making Gnome application menus in 3.4 Beta

Postby patfla » Fri Oct 14, 2011 1:30 am

alacarte is easy to use and great. However where do I find icons for the OO apps? All of the OO 3.4 Beta seems to be installed under /opt/ooo-dev and /opt/ooo-dev3. I've been looking through the two directory trees but have yet to find suitable icons.

Thanks for people's help (including the instructions how to finally close out the topic).
OpenOffice 3.4 Beta on Centos 5.7 Final
patfla
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2011 9:29 pm

Re: Making Gnome application menus in 3.4 Beta

Postby Robert Tucker » Fri Oct 14, 2011 11:50 am

Perhaps the icons are not included since the integration package isn't as Hagar Delest states.

Other than downloading the current version just to get the icons, you may well find a set you like by Googling. I've attached the icons used by LibreOffice:

icons.zip
(13.99 KiB) Downloaded 78 times
LibreOffice 6.x.x on Fedora 32 and Ubuntu 20.04 (Dual Boot)
User avatar
Robert Tucker
Volunteer
 
Posts: 1247
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 1:34 am
Location: Manchester UK

Re: Making Gnome application menus in 3.4 Beta

Postby patfla » Fri Oct 14, 2011 11:34 pm

OK thanks - I should finally close this out (and will).
OpenOffice 3.4 Beta on Centos 5.7 Final
patfla
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2011 9:29 pm


Return to Linux

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests