[Solved] Print button is grayed out

Issues with installing under all Linux Distributions

[Solved] Print button is grayed out

Postby BlownCPU » Fri Mar 28, 2008 5:41 pm

Hi,

I'm running Fedora 8 with the latest kernel 2.6.24.

This is my first post, I have done a search but am unable to find a solution.

I have been successfully running OpenOffice and my HP 4280 ink jet printer for the last few months when today I wanted to print something and I found that the "Print" button in the print window from menu /File/Print is grayed out!

The printer works well as I can print from Firefox and the text editor.

All other Office software do not print either.

I look forward to a response,

All the best,

Blown CPU
Last edited by Hagar Delest on Mon Jun 09, 2008 11:38 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: tagged the thread as Solved.
User avatar
BlownCPU
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 5:35 pm

Re: Print button is grayed out

Postby foxcole » Fri Mar 28, 2008 6:56 pm

BlownCPU wrote:All other Office software do not print either.

Do you mean other OpenOffice.org modules, or MS Office programs too?

What version of OOo are you using? Please find the 3-digit version number in Help> About OpenOffice.org.
Cheers!
---Fox

OOo 3.2.0 Portable, Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
User avatar
foxcole
Volunteer
 
Posts: 1507
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 1:31 am
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota

Re: Print button is grayed out

Postby acknak » Fri Mar 28, 2008 9:29 pm

Are you sure it's not a problem with your CPU? Ha ha. Sorry.

Check that the print server is running. From the command line it will be something like "service cupsd status" (as root). There may be a GUI thing you can use instead, I'm not sure. If it says "stopped" you can restart it with "service cupsd restart" (who says Linux is too hard?).

If it won't restart, or won't stay running, you'll have to check the CUPS log for errors and find out what's up there.
AOO 4 • Linux • Fedora 17
User avatar
acknak
Moderator
 
Posts: 17422
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 1:25 am
Location: USA:NJ:E3

Re: Print button is grayed out

Postby BlownCPU » Sat Mar 29, 2008 6:44 pm

Hi,

Thanks for you responses:

Foxcole: I'm using OpenOffice with Oo modules...calc.. etc and all of them have the grayed out button. Also Evince for PDF files doesn't print either.

Acknak: cups is working as I can print normally from Firefox, Thunderbird, gedit... you name it it all prints but not from Oo which is a killer for me as I have lots of work to print :(

I really, really need help on this one !!

Cheers,

BlownCPU
User avatar
BlownCPU
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 5:35 pm

Re: Print button is grayed out

Postby Hagar Delest » Sat Mar 29, 2008 8:06 pm

Please read the Survival Guide for the forum. No multi posting (I've deleted you other thread). And we still need your OOo version.

Have you tried to rename your OOo user profile (~/.openoffice.org2)?
AOO 4.0.1 on Windows 7 and Xubuntu 14.04 (Trusty Tahr)
User avatar
Hagar Delest
Moderator
 
Posts: 25113
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 9:07 pm
Location: France

Re: Print button is grayed out

Postby BlownCPU » Sun Mar 30, 2008 12:59 am

Hagar,

Yes, I know about the multi posts, sorry, I thought there would be a bigger crowd watching the posts in "Beginners" as this is strictly not just a Writer problem but it happens in all Oo applications.

My version: 2.3.0 and the package is: openoffice.org-2.3.0-6.11.fc8, I'm using Linux Fedora 8.

I do have good news, if I press the print icon in the top bar I can print but it means I can't control the quality of the print or how many copies or pages.

I have now tried a different printer and still no luck. I have also changed USB ports and no luck.

My CUPS error & access logs do not show anything out of the ordinary.

I don't quite follow what you mean by renaming the directory (~/.openoffice.org2) ? What is the purpose of this?

I have a screen shot attached.

Cheers,

BlownCPU
Attachments
Grayed-out-Print-Button.png
Grayed out Print button
User avatar
BlownCPU
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 5:35 pm

Re: Print button is grayed out

Postby Hagar Delest » Sun Mar 30, 2008 12:45 pm

So I move your thread in the Linux forum.

Renaming the OOo user profile will make OOo create a new one with blank new configuration files. Perhaps one of them is damaged.
AOO 4.0.1 on Windows 7 and Xubuntu 14.04 (Trusty Tahr)
User avatar
Hagar Delest
Moderator
 
Posts: 25113
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 9:07 pm
Location: France

[Solved] Print button is grayed out

Postby BlownCPU » Sun Mar 30, 2008 12:50 pm

Problem solved !! :D

In /var/log/cups/error_log I found this error and had to think what was going on.

Unable to bind socket for address 192.168.1.3:631 - Cannot assign requested address


So I did a bit of reading and found out that programs (not all) send print jobs to localhost to port 631.

It should be binding to localhost from what I have been reading and the log should look like this:
Listening to ::1:631 on fd 4...
Listening to 127.0.0.1:631 on fd 5...
Listening to /var/run/cups/cups.sock on fd 6...


So I had a look at my hosts file /etc/hosts and found the following code:
# Do not remove the following line, or various programs
# that require network functionality will fail.
192.168.1.3 mylinux localhost.localdomain localhost
::1 localhost6.localdomain6 localhost6



it should have been and is now:
# Do not remove the following line, or various programs
# that require network functionality will fail.
localhost mylinux localhost.localdomain localhost
::1 localhost6.localdomain6 localhost6


All print jobs print and no grayed out buttons :D

I do still have one other error in the log, it doesn't seem to affect anything but would be nice to get rid of it, mylinux is the name of my machine, this is the error:
Unable to find IP address for server name "mylinux"!


I don't understand why from one day to the next the hosts file changed but I have now corrected it and it all works fine.
Thanks for everybody's input, hope this helps folks further down the line.

Cheers,

Blown CPU
User avatar
BlownCPU
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 5:35 pm

Re: [Solved] Print button is grayed out

Postby foxcole » Mon Mar 31, 2008 3:57 pm

Great summary, and good job solving the problem! Glad to hear it's fixed. Thanks for that post, I am sure it will help others.
Cheers!
---Fox

OOo 3.2.0 Portable, Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
User avatar
foxcole
Volunteer
 
Posts: 1507
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 1:31 am
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota


Return to Linux

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests