[Solved] Using Windows fonts in Linux

Issues with installing under all GNU/Linux Distributions
richardglobal

[Solved] Using Windows fonts in Linux

Post by richardglobal »

When I open an OOo writer document composed under Windows in Linux, only some of the fonts display correctly, the others are substituted as under Linux there are only a relatively few fonts available. Can I copy the Windows fonts in /windows/fonts to somewhere in Linux where they will be recognised and used, both on screen and printer? Using Ubuntu 10.10. I'm new to Linux so simple language, please! Many thanks.
Last edited by richardglobal on Sat Dec 18, 2010 12:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Villeroy
Volunteer

Re: using windows fonts in Linux

Post by Villeroy »

Ubuntu? Get a console and run
sudo apt-get install msttcorefonts
Please, edit this topic's initial post and add "[Solved]" to the subject line if your problem has been solved.
Ubuntu 18.04 with LibreOffice 6.0, latest OpenOffice and LibreOffice
richardglobal

Post by richardglobal »

Thanks. I did that a while ago but it downloads only a few fonts. I want all the ones in windows, if possible.
Robert Tucker
Volunteer

Post by Robert Tucker »

Many of the fonts on Windows are proprietary fonts for which you pay when you buy Windows. You will probably just have to look at the ones you want to use, find out if they are free or proprietary and if they are proprietary decide whether you want to buy them or look for free alternatives. Note also some fonts are free to download but stipulate you may need to pay if you want use them in a commercial application or presentation or at least contact someone representing the font author to consent to their use.
LibreOffice 7.x.x on Arch and Fedora.
RGB

Re: Using Windows fonts in Linux

Post by RGB »

richardglobal wrote:Can I copy the Windows fonts in /windows/fonts to somewhere in Linux where they will be recognised and used, both on screen and printer?