Problems opening an existing Base file

Issues with installing under all GNU/Linux Distributions
taimic

Problems opening an existing Base file

Post by taimic »

(Running Linux)
I'm trying to create a database. The database wizard worked fine, but the Table wizard didn't open at all, so I created the Table in the Design View, which seemed simple enough. However, because I am new to this software, I did not create a primary key specifically (I assumed my first field would be the primary key). I entered a bogus record to start things off, then closed the file.

Now when I get back into Base, it doesn't recognize the table that I created--when I try to open it (it was saved as a .dbf file for some reason), the thing opens in Calc. When I ask to view only database files in the Open Files window, the table file does not show up in the list.

I'm concerned that if I go through the same process of creation again, I'll have the same problem--not being able to reopen the file. Does anyone have any idea either a) how I can open the file I created or b) how to create a table so that it saves as a database table and not a spreadsheet?

Many thanks!

taimi
Villeroy
Volunteer

Re: Problems opening an existing Base file

Post by Villeroy »

Open the database document (*.odb) and tell us the type of database as indicated on the left side of the status bar.
What does Menu:Help>About OpenOffice.org say about the creator of the software. Is it created by Sun or by your Linux-distributor?
What can you tell us about your Java runtime? Menu:Tools>Options>Java (+wait some seconds) shows availlable runtimes and the one currently used by OOo.

In general there are three types of databases.
1: The default type uses a special embedded version of the hsql database engine http://hsqldb.org/. All it's data (tables) are stored within the database document (*.odb). The statusbar shows "Embedded database | HSQL database engine".