[Solved] How to Force OOo to start in Read Only mode?

Issues with installing under all versions of MS Windows

[Solved] How to Force OOo to start in Read Only mode?

Postby Christoph84 » Wed Sep 01, 2010 4:37 pm

Hi guys,

i have a problem.

We use Microsoft office 2000 and we would use OpenOffice for some tests.

This is the easy Part, we must force OpenOffice in a read only mode for alle Documents.

In Linux can we use a -view option. But iam not a Windows Guru, i had no ideas to force Open Office to load in a Read Only mode.

Any ideas?

Reggards

Christoph
Last edited by Hagar Delest on Thu Sep 02, 2010 4:57 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: tagged [Solved].
OpenOffice 3.1 on Windows XP
Christoph84
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 3:33 pm

Re: How to Force Open Office to start in Read Only mode?

Postby acknak » Wed Sep 01, 2010 5:57 pm

Just so you're aware, OOo's "read-only" mode is not a locked-down file viewer: the user can leave read-only mode and edit the document with just a click on the toolbar (the "Edit File" button). All that's required is that the user have access to some space on the system to store a copy of the file.
AOO4/LO5 • Linux • Fedora 23
User avatar
acknak
Moderator
 
Posts: 22756
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 1:25 am
Location: USA:NJ:E3

Re: How to Force Open Office to start in Read Only mode?

Postby RoryOF » Wed Sep 01, 2010 10:38 pm

You could change the Rights on the document directories so that users only had Read-only rights.
Apache OpenOffice 4.1.6 on Xubuntu 18.04.3 (mostly 64 bit version) and very infrequently on Win2K/XP
User avatar
RoryOF
Moderator
 
Posts: 29294
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2009 9:30 pm
Location: Ireland

Re: How to Force Open Office to start in Read Only mode?

Postby Christoph84 » Thu Sep 02, 2010 1:09 pm

Change the rights of the folder is not a option. Because they should write in it, but not in OpenOffice.

It is Ok when they can edit it when they click it. But as default it should be read only.
OpenOffice 3.1 on Windows XP
Christoph84
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 3:33 pm

Re: How to Force Open Office to start in Read Only mode?

Postby keme » Thu Sep 02, 2010 1:26 pm

You use the same -view option as in linux.

To have it as a default when opening a file, you need to alter the default command line for that file type. In WinXP it's in Windows Explorer, Tools - Folder options - File types. Find the extension in the list, and click the Advanced button. Edit the open command and replace the -o item with -view.

Probably similar with newer MS Windows versions if you need that, but I can't check it right now. I guess you'll find out...
Last edited by keme on Thu Sep 02, 2010 3:32 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Apache OO 3.4.1/4.1.2/4.1.3, on Ms Windows 7/10 and Mac OS-X 10.8.5 and 10.11.
LibreOffice 4.3.3.2 on Mepis Antix MX 14
User avatar
keme
Volunteer
 
Posts: 3216
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007 10:27 am
Location: Egersund, Norway

Re: How to Force Open Office to start in Read Only mode?

Postby Christoph84 » Thu Sep 02, 2010 1:33 pm

Thx,

this is a sullution!

Christoph
OpenOffice 3.1 on Windows XP
Christoph84
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 3:33 pm

Re: How to Force Open Office to start in Read Only mode?

Postby keme » Thu Sep 02, 2010 3:35 pm

You could also create a new operation, say "OOoView", instead of editing the "open" operation. That way, you can still double click to open in the MS application, and a right click would reveal the OOoView option.
Apache OO 3.4.1/4.1.2/4.1.3, on Ms Windows 7/10 and Mac OS-X 10.8.5 and 10.11.
LibreOffice 4.3.3.2 on Mepis Antix MX 14
User avatar
keme
Volunteer
 
Posts: 3216
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007 10:27 am
Location: Egersund, Norway

Re: How to Force Open Office to start in Read Only mode?

Postby DynV » Fri Nov 26, 2010 9:23 am

keme wrote:In WinXP it's in Windows Explorer, Tools - Folder options - File types.


For windows Vista it's: Control Panel > Default Programs > Set Associations

It's described as : Associate a file type or protocol with a specific program


I have a problem though... When I open a type, it showed the same window as if I right-clicked on a file then chose Open With... so I can't get to the advanced interface where I could edit the command sent with the GUI.

My goal was to copy the edit entry then modify it for viewing then set it as default. However I can't even transform the open as a view (not even a new entry / copy). :(
AOO414m5 on Windows 7 Home Premium SP1. Je suis francophone.
User avatar
DynV
 
Posts: 182
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 10:50 pm
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: [Solved] How to Force OOo to start in Read Only mode?

Postby Bill » Fri Nov 26, 2010 10:15 am

DynV wrote:... When I open a type, it showed the same window as if I right-clicked on a file then chose Open With... so I can't get to the advanced interface where I could edit the command sent with the GUI...


The advanced interface was removed in Vista and Windows 7. There are several third-party utility programs you can use.

Windows Vista File Associations Advanced Editing Management Tools
Bill
Volunteer
 
Posts: 7285
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2007 6:48 am

Re: [Solved] How to Force OOo to start in Read Only mode?

Postby DynV » Fri Nov 26, 2010 10:28 am

Bill wrote:There are several third-party utility programs you can use.

Windows Vista File Associations Advanced Editing Management Tools


Hmm! The only of those on download.com is Directory Opus ; Directory Opus (32-bit) 9.5.6. I have hard time trusting sites that aren't popular, even some that are popular are untrustworthy. Sadly it's not free so I guess I'll have to use the shareware. :?

Thank for the link though ;)
AOO414m5 on Windows 7 Home Premium SP1. Je suis francophone.
User avatar
DynV
 
Posts: 182
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 10:50 pm
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: [Solved] How to Force OOo to start in Read Only mode?

Postby Bill » Fri Nov 26, 2010 4:37 pm

The article is the first that came up in a Google search, but it is at least two years old. There are other programs. This one is also on download.com:

FileTypesMan 1.60
Bill
Volunteer
 
Posts: 7285
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2007 6:48 am

Re: [Solved] How to Force OOo to start in Read Only mode?

Postby DynV » Sat Nov 27, 2010 1:51 pm

Bill wrote:The article is the first that came up in a Google search, but it is at least two years old. There are other programs. This one is also on download.com:

FileTypesMan 1.60


Awesome!

I did it for .odt so I just need to do it for other OOo types.
Image Image Image

I though you could copy-paste or duplicate entries in FileTypesMan so I was a tad disappointed but luckily there was only a worthy entry in the Command-Line.
AOO414m5 on Windows 7 Home Premium SP1. Je suis francophone.
User avatar
DynV
 
Posts: 182
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 10:50 pm
Location: Montreal, Canada


Return to MS Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests