Parts of a date unknown

Discuss the database features
shalom

Parts of a date unknown

Post by shalom »

I'm new to openoffice and plan to set up a database for an awards program for a girls club. Sometime I know the complete date, but sometimes I only know the month and day or month and year. How would I handle that?
Win10; OpenOffice 4.1.6
RoryOF

Re: parts of a date unknown

Post by RoryOF »

In that case, I think your dates have to be text strings. If you need to calculate from the dates, then you will have to convert full dates to their numeric values and adopt a convention for partial dates, such as that for thoroughbred horses (1st January in Northern Hemisphere, 1st August in Southern hemisphere).
Apache OpenOffice 4.1.15 on Xubuntu 22.04.4 LTS
shalom

Post by shalom »

Thank you. I was afraid I would have to do it that way.
Win10; OpenOffice 4.1.6
Villeroy
Volunteer

Post by Villeroy »

Anything is better than strings because strings are difficult to evaluate.
Enter some date together with a boolean value if the date is sure or unsure.
Or use 3 numbers for the year, month and day.

Looking for a birthday in September in a string field, you search for substring "Sep" or "September" or "sep", "september", "SEPT" or "9" (but not "1999") or "09" (but only if the number refers to the month rather than day "9"), ... it is hopeless. WIth a clear date or 3 numbers representing a date, you can get anything.
Please, edit this topic's initial post and add "[Solved]" to the subject line if your problem has been solved.
Ubuntu 18.04 with LibreOffice 6.0, latest OpenOffice and LibreOffice
shalom

Post by shalom »

Hmmm, that gave me an interesting thought. Maybe I could figure out how to do a drop down or some such field for each part of the date. The month would have a range of 1 to 12, day 1 to 31 and figure out how to handle the year. Then I could manipulate it and put it in a text field for printing, etc.
Win10; OpenOffice 4.1.6
RusselB

Post by RusselB »