"Base" Pull data from table when value or field matches?

Discuss the database features
netherworldforest

"Base" Pull data from table when value or field matches?

Post by netherworldforest »

I use windows 7 Home Edition

Hello,

First just want to say, thank you for anyone who takes the time to help me with this. :D I just searching the forums can't figure out this question. I'm think I am not asking the right information. Here it goes.

For some background. I work in retail and we do customer returns. I get the returned product and or damage items I need to call, fax or email each company and make sure what their return terms are. Their 300 something suppliers. The suppliers all have different return terms and how they want you to contact them and what info they want.

I posted a pic of my offline return report. We use MICROSOFT DYNAMICS RMS. Dynamics RMS is a POS. If anyone cares.

So what I am trying to do, Make a Table (1) that has the fields: Supplier, Reorder No, Item Lookup code , Description, Quantity Reason Code, Date ,and Cost.

Then have a Table (2) with Suppliers info: Supplier name, Phone number, Fax , Contact person, more stuff.

The goal would be run a report that "if supplier is present with a return
ie "Avanti" has a return item
Supplier/Reorder No./ Item Code/ Description/ Quantity/ Reason/ Date
Avanti / 702270 / 253214 / Ugly x-mas Sweater/ 1 / damage / 1/19

Then the return report would pull: The return terms, who to contact, Phone number. From table (2)

I hope this makes scents.
Attachments
eow.png
OpenOffice 3.1 on Windows Vista
Windows 7 Home Premium
UnklDonald418
Volunteer

Re: "Base" Pull data from table when value or field matches?

Post by UnklDonald418 »

A relatively simple query joining the two tables would fetch the results you need for your report. But for that to work the tables must be properly designed and data entry forms need to be created. Relational database design is not intuitive, there is a definite learning curve