[Solved] Calculating a total within a given date range

Discuss the database features
jeng2699

[Solved] Calculating a total within a given date range

Post by jeng2699 »

I'm new to Base, and databases in general. I managed to create a database to keep track of the training my employees have received. My main form consists of the employee's name, hire date, department and job title. The subform tracks the subjects they've been trained on and the hours spent.
I've done some simply queries such as returning the employees who have been trained on a specific machine, but now I want to do something more complex and need some help.
Government regulations require our employees receive 24 hours of training within their first 60 days of employment. So, I want to select the employee and somehow receive a report of all the training they've received within 60 days of their hire date, with a sum of the hours so I don't have to do the math myself, and I can make sure we're in compliance.
Or, I'd like to know which employees have been hired less than 60 days ago and how many hours of training they've received so far.
Last edited by jeng2699 on Wed Jun 07, 2017 8:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.
OpenOffice 4.1.3 on Windows 7
Villeroy
Volunteer

Re: Calculating a total within a given date range

Post by Villeroy »

Please, edit this topic's initial post and add "[Solved]" to the subject line if your problem has been solved.
Ubuntu 18.04 with LibreOffice 6.0, latest OpenOffice and LibreOffice
jeng2699

Post by jeng2699 »

I finally had time to check out that link and I downloaded the sample databases posted in the responses. However, when I try to open the forms and queries to see how they are set up, I get an error message saying the connection to the data source could not be established. So unfortunately it doesn't help. Thanks anyway.
eremmel

Post by eremmel »