Auto-Populating with Data from Another Table

Discuss the database features
BrotherCRO

Auto-Populating with Data from Another Table

Post by BrotherCRO »

Greetings,

Here's the situation: I'm trying to create an employee sign-in form in OO Base that records the Employee ID (primary key for the table), last name, first name, department/position and an automatic timestamp. The thing is, I only want to have to input the employee ID with entry, and have the rest of the information auto-populate based on the data from a table containing the employees' information (which also uses the employee ID as its primary key). How do I configure the sign-in table to extract information from the employee data table based on the employee ID being entered? I'm still learning the basics of OO Base, so any input (the more idiot-proof, the better) is appreciated.
OpenOffice v. 4.0 on Win7
Arineckaig
Volunteer

Re: Auto-Populating with Data from Another Table

Post by Arineckaig »

How do I configure the sign-in table to extract information from the employee data table based on the employee ID being entered?
Welcome to the forum.

If I am correct in assuming you wish a table to record each of several times that an employee may sign in, you will in effect need a one-to-many relationship between the employee table and a sign-in table. The latter table (the many side of the relationship) should have its own (possibly token) primary key field but also it should have a foreign key field that holds the relevant "Employee ID" value for referring or linking to the primary key field in the employee table (the one side of the relationship). Of course the sign-in table should also have a field to hold the value of the time-stamp each time the employee signs in: that field should not be in the employee table unless the database is to be designed to record the one and only time that an employee signs in.