Switching from Filemaker to Base

Discuss the database features

Switching from Filemaker to Base

Postby Rounak » Sat May 11, 2013 9:39 am

I am exhausted and thoroughly frustrated searching the internet and not able to find any answers. I have browsed through lot of articles, videos etc most of them fairly basic and others not directly providing me with what I am looking for. Instead of wasting my time doing something non-tech, I decided to make this post which may avoid the frustrations of some future user switching from Filemaker to Base. I could not find any switchers guide to move to Base from Filemaker. Here, in this post, I am attempting to find out the manner of creating a database in Base.

I have created a single invoicing, accounting database in Filemaker which I have been using for over a year (i.e. I am no expert, but I am fairly comfortable using Filemaker). I have no knowledge of Access or any other such software.

I will lay down the sample steps (steps necessary for my database but can be thought of as general steps) required to create a database in Filemaker and perhaps some one here can show me the way these steps are performed in Base so that other Filemaker users can find it easy to switch.

1. Create Tables

2. Fields can be of type "Calculation", "Lookup", "Summary" etc among other types. Calculation fields are used to perform calculations using fields from the same table or different tables. Summary fields are capable of (among other things) summing the values of fields from the same table and displaying them in each record as running total etc. Lookup fields work based on the relationships created to retrieve values from fields in other tables. (The inability to find a workaround for these three fields is probably my biggest problem, currently, though I am prepared for many other hurdles to come. "Queries", huh?).