Button to open a form based on the record chosen

Discuss the database features
however

Button to open a form based on the record chosen

Post by however »

Good day everyone,

I am trying to open a form (Patient Record) by clicking a button (Open Patient Record button) based on the patient I have chosen on a previous 'Main List' form.

Searching through the forum I found what i need however, the SQL code is to complex for me to be able to adapt to my DB, as I have no much knowledge of SQL programming.I have attached the DB.example that I found in this forum and with the 4th form (Patient-Table Control-TextBox) I would solve my problem.

Could anyone tell me what info do I need to post in order for someone to help me write the appropriate SQL code?

Regards,
Attachments
Open_Form_Filtered.odb
(83.63 KiB) Downloaded 561 times
ApacheOpenOffice 4.1 on Slackware 14.1
DACM
Volunteer

Re: Button to open a form based on the record chosen

Post by DACM »

Those examples are primarily a demonstration of various macros used to open a Form filtered to the selected patient/contact/employee. You've chosen the example that reads the patient ID from a Table Control selection, then opens a Form filtered to that patient. There's no SQL associated with the embedded macros in this case (although it is possible to dispatch SQL through a macro). The Macro code is used to manipulate built-in Form filtering mechanisms. This is more flexible than SQL filtering because with Form filtering, the user can simply toggle the 'apply filter' icon, or click the more permanent 'delete filter/sort' icon to gain access to the entire record-set available to the Form.

So perhaps you're referring to the SQL used to build the Forms themselves. That's outlined in another example:
[Example #1] Filter/Search with Forms (leveraging SubForms)

Either way, maybe post an example of your database with all sensitive data removed for specific replies.