[Solved] Inserting Rows

Discuss the database features

[Solved] Inserting Rows

Postby Sassyaugustchyck » Thu Sep 16, 2010 4:45 pm

How can I insert a new row in between current rows of a Dbase? I have a list of patient's that i keep up with that all have a different category. When i attempt to insert a row in between, it always adds it to the end...
Last edited by Sassyaugustchyck on Thu Oct 21, 2010 5:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.
OpenOffice 3.1 on Windows 7
Sassyaugustchyck
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 11:17 pm

Re: Inserting Rows

Postby therabi » Thu Sep 16, 2010 5:37 pm

Sassyaugustchyck wrote:How can I insert a new row in between current rows of a Dbase? I have a list of patient's that i keep up with that all have a different category. When i attempt to insert a row in between, it always adds it to the end...


You can only add rows to a database. That said when you design you reports you can place that row any where you want. In other words the rows do not have to be displayed/printed in the same order they are in the database.

HTH
OpenOffice.org v3.3, LibO v3.32 on Ubuntu 10.10 and Win7
User avatar
therabi
Volunteer
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 10:01 pm
Location: USA

Re: Inserting Rows

Postby RoryOF » Thu Sep 16, 2010 5:40 pm

Just to be certain, are you keeping a database, using Base or some other database tool, or is it a Spreadsheet, where the entire content of your work is displayed onscreen in a grid?
Apache OpenOffice 4.0.1 on Xubuntu 14.04 and Win2K/XP
User avatar
RoryOF
Moderator
 
Posts: 14377
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2009 9:30 pm
Location: Ireland

Re: Inserting Rows

Postby Sassyaugustchyck » Thu Sep 16, 2010 6:02 pm

I clicked on Base......created a table, imported the patient information, saved it, closed it.....then when i double-clicked on the database table, it opened up. i have arranged my patient's first by parish, then by category....i need to change the category of a patient which it allowed me to do, but i also need to move it down in my table in alphabetical order under the new category! I can't figure it out...if i could insert a new row between two different patient's, I could just retype or copy and paste the information. But when i insert a new row, it goes to the bottom and i can't move it..PLEASE HELP!
OpenOffice 3.1 on Windows 7
Sassyaugustchyck
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 11:17 pm

Re: Inserting Rows

Postby Sassyaugustchyck » Thu Sep 16, 2010 6:04 pm

I also created a form and tried to enter new information using the form, it wouldn't allow me to do so...it kept giving me an error.
OpenOffice 3.1 on Windows 7
Sassyaugustchyck
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 11:17 pm

Re: Inserting Rows

Postby therabi » Thu Sep 16, 2010 6:22 pm

Sassyaugustchyck wrote:I clicked on Base......created a table, imported the patient information, saved it, closed it.....then when i double-clicked on the database table, it opened up. i have arranged my patient's first by parish, then by category....i need to change the category of a patient which it allowed me to do, but i also need to move it down in my table in alphabetical order under the new category! I can't figure it out...if i could insert a new row between two different patient's, I could just retype or copy and paste the information. But when i insert a new row, it goes to the bottom and i can't move it..PLEASE HELP!


Can you send a copy of the database with some sample data? It would be easier to help if we can see what your doing.
OpenOffice.org v3.3, LibO v3.32 on Ubuntu 10.10 and Win7
User avatar
therabi
Volunteer
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 10:01 pm
Location: USA

Re: Inserting Rows

Postby Sassyaugustchyck » Thu Sep 16, 2010 7:29 pm

Parish Category patient
natchitoches II Joe Smith
Sabine HS Joe Berry
Sabine II Jimmy Deloach
Sabine II jeffery Tate

ok, now say i want to change jeffery to HS category. I need to move his row up between Joe Smith and joe Berry.....How do i do that?
OpenOffice 3.1 on Windows 7
Sassyaugustchyck
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 11:17 pm

Re: Inserting Rows

Postby Sassyaugustchyck » Thu Sep 16, 2010 7:35 pm

In Wordperfect.....I use data and merge with a form. How do i create a form that i can merge information from the database in openoffice with? And how would i merge that information? Like if i only wanted to merge certain patient's?
OpenOffice 3.1 on Windows 7
Sassyaugustchyck
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 11:17 pm

Re: Inserting Rows

Postby therabi » Thu Sep 16, 2010 8:12 pm

Sassyaugustchyck wrote:Parish Category patient
natchitoches II Joe Smith
Sabine HS Joe Berry
Sabine II Jimmy Deloach
Sabine II jeffery Tate

ok, now say i want to change jeffery to HS category. I need to move his row up between Joe Smith and joe Berry.....How do i do that?


You are missing the point. A database stores data as it is entered, one record at a time. That data then is displayed/printed from the query. There you define how you want the data displayed.
OpenOffice.org v3.3, LibO v3.32 on Ubuntu 10.10 and Win7
User avatar
therabi
Volunteer
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 10:01 pm
Location: USA

Re: Inserting Rows

Postby Sassyaugustchyck » Thu Sep 16, 2010 8:16 pm

In Wordperfect.....I use data and merge with a form. How do i create a form that i can merge information from the database in openoffice with? And how would i merge that information? Like if i only wanted to merge certain patient's?
OpenOffice 3.1 on Windows 7
Sassyaugustchyck
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 11:17 pm

Re: Inserting Rows

Postby RPG » Thu Sep 16, 2010 8:40 pm

Hello

I think it is a bad habit to repeat a question where people are saying it is not possible.

A good habit is asking how you can do it.

For you I think start study a tutorial how to design a database, that is what you need there you are designing a database. I don't know how what your database is but it can be possible to make a column which contain the field value you need. When you have made that field value then you can change that value and reorder your form.

When you want have a database what is the same as you did have continue to use your old program.

Romke
openSuse version of LibreOffice 4.1.5.3 stable on openSUSE 12.2
RPG
Volunteer
 
Posts: 1548
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2009 7:15 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Inserting Rows

Postby therabi » Thu Sep 16, 2010 8:45 pm

Sassyaugustchyck wrote:In Wordperfect.....I use data and merge with a form. How do i create a form that i can merge information from the database in openoffice with? And how would i merge that information? Like if i only wanted to merge certain patient's?


I am no expert but I am sure it can be done. I will find out and get back with you if no one else can give you the details. I would also suggest that you read http://documentation.openoffice.org/ser ... lderID=778 . The first two parts gives great details about designing a rational database. The third part goes into detail about using Base.
OpenOffice.org v3.3, LibO v3.32 on Ubuntu 10.10 and Win7
User avatar
therabi
Volunteer
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 10:01 pm
Location: USA

Re: Inserting Rows

Postby RPG » Thu Sep 16, 2010 9:28 pm

Hello

This link
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/10552709/FilterExamples.zip
is to a tutorial of Arineckaig and describe how you can use a form. He describe there several things what can be real useful.

Romke
openSuse version of LibreOffice 4.1.5.3 stable on openSUSE 12.2
RPG
Volunteer
 
Posts: 1548
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2009 7:15 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Inserting Rows

Postby Sassyaugustchyck » Thu Sep 16, 2010 9:37 pm

Thank you so much!
OpenOffice 3.1 on Windows 7
Sassyaugustchyck
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 11:17 pm


Return to Base

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests