[Solved] Enter data in more than one field with a List Box?

Discuss the database features
kdunkelberg

[Solved] Enter data in more than one field with a List Box?

Post by kdunkelberg »

I'm using LibreOffice Base on a Mac (OS 10.13), and am new to OpenOffice Base. I would like to use one List Box to enter data into three fields of a form to update a table with this data. I have been able to create a list box that lists one field and then adds the data from another field from the source table to the correct field on the form. It seems like I should then be able to take data from two other fields to populate the form, possibly using a macro. But there may be an easier way to do this that I'm overlooking, since I'm new to using databases.

Here's a more thorough explanation of what I'm trying to do, in case that's helpful:

I have three tables in my database that are linked:
Titles, containing fields for TitleID, Title, Genre, etc. (that aren't relevant here), where TitleID is the primary key
Places, containing fields for PlaceID, Place, Type, etc. where PlaceID is the primary key
Submissions, containing fields for SubmissionID, TitleID, Title, PlaceID, Place, Genre, Type, etc. (that don't affect what I want to do here)

I want to use the list box to choose a Place and enter PlaceID, Place, and Type into the form to update Submissions
Then I would use another listbox to choose a Title and enter its TitleID, Title, and Genre into the form.

I know I could have a Submissions table that only had SubmissionID, TitleID, and PlaceID, but I want to be able to filter Submissions by Genre or Type in queries on the Submissions table, and I want to display the Place and Title on subforms that display submissions for each Place and Title, so I can see what has been submitted where, when, etc. That's all working well with the database structure I have currently (imported from a SuperCard project I've been using, via a Calc spreadsheet, so I have lots of data).