Multi User Databases!

Discuss the database features
leisureelectronics

Multi User Databases!

Post by leisureelectronics »

I am new to Open Office and need help! I have a database that I have created to track and monitor calls but several people need to access/edit the database and I can't figure out how to do this :( can anyone help or advise please????
RonIA
Volunteer

Re: Multi User Databases!

Post by RonIA »

Unfortunately, right now the OO.o Base backend database engine is a single user database. You can however use other database engines that are multi-user... One that springs to mind is MySQL.
Ron from Iowa, USA
leisureelectronics

Post by leisureelectronics »

Thanks I suspected that was going to be the answer!!
RonIA
Volunteer

Post by RonIA »

With there were a better answer. But, give OO.o another year or two... Compared to MS Access OO.o Base is still a bit raw, but MS Access has been out there for 12+ years. OO.o Base has been out there about 2 years. With a couple of revisions, I am sure it will start to give MS Access a better run for its money, just like the other applications in the suite.
Ron from Iowa, USA
TerryE
Volunteer

Post by TerryE »

In one sense Base already supports Multi-user databases — in that you can link to an external D/B. Intrinsically the ODB format is a document format and one in which only one person can one it read-write. If you open an ODB file with your favourite ZIP GUI you will see that the ZIP container includes a folder called database which contains the HSQLDB database.