[Solved] Underbrace is wrong position

Discuss the formula editor

[Solved] Underbrace is wrong position

Postby jrobi » Fri Dec 29, 2017 8:09 pm

Hi

The underbrace is wrong position under Windows 10 (unnder win7 works correctly):

4+{2+3} underbrace 5
underbrace.jpg
underbrace.jpg (1.31 KiB) Viewed 2626 times


Is there a way to fix this?

Thanks

jrobi
Last edited by jrobi on Sat Dec 30, 2017 9:09 am, edited 2 times in total.
Openoffice 4.1.4 Windows 10
jrobi
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 7:52 pm

Re: underbrace is wrong position

Postby Zizi64 » Fri Dec 29, 2017 8:33 pm

Try it with the LibreOffice (for example a portable version of the LO)
Tibor Kovacs, Hungary; LO4.4.7, LO6.1.1 on Win7x64Prof.
PortableApps, winPenPack: LO3.3.0-LO6.1.2 and AOO4.1.5
Please, edit the initial post in the topic: add the word [Solved] at the beginning of the subject line - if your problem has been solved.
User avatar
Zizi64
Volunteer
 
Posts: 7363
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 7:55 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Re: underbrace is wrong position

Postby jrobi » Fri Dec 29, 2017 8:43 pm

Köszönöm, de nem szeretnék LO-t használni.
Thanks, but I do not want to use LO.
Openoffice 4.1.4 Windows 10
jrobi
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 7:52 pm

Re: underbrace is wrong position

Postby Zizi64 » Fri Dec 29, 2017 9:11 pm

Do not use it. Just try it.
(I have not Win10 , therefore I can not try this function on Win10.)
Tibor Kovacs, Hungary; LO4.4.7, LO6.1.1 on Win7x64Prof.
PortableApps, winPenPack: LO3.3.0-LO6.1.2 and AOO4.1.5
Please, edit the initial post in the topic: add the word [Solved] at the beginning of the subject line - if your problem has been solved.
User avatar
Zizi64
Volunteer
 
Posts: 7363
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 7:55 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Re: underbrace is wrong position

Postby jrobi » Fri Dec 29, 2017 9:39 pm

Under LibreOffice "underbrace" works!
Openoffice 4.1.4 Windows 10
jrobi
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 7:52 pm

Re: underbrace is wrong position

Postby Zizi64 » Fri Dec 29, 2017 9:47 pm

Thank you for the information.
Tibor Kovacs, Hungary; LO4.4.7, LO6.1.1 on Win7x64Prof.
PortableApps, winPenPack: LO3.3.0-LO6.1.2 and AOO4.1.5
Please, edit the initial post in the topic: add the word [Solved] at the beginning of the subject line - if your problem has been solved.
User avatar
Zizi64
Volunteer
 
Posts: 7363
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 7:55 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Re: underbrace is wrong position

Postby Villeroy » Fri Dec 29, 2017 9:50 pm

Works with OpenOffice 4.1.4 under Linux.
Please, edit this topic's initial post and add "[Solved]" to the subject line if your problem has been solved.
Ubuntu 18.04, OpenOffice 4.x & LibreOffice 6.x
User avatar
Villeroy
Volunteer
 
Posts: 25835
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 1:35 am
Location: Germany

Re: underbrace is wrong position

Postby Zizi64 » Fri Dec 29, 2017 10:13 pm

...and it works with AOO4.1.4 Portable (from Portable Apps) on Win7 Prof 64bit.
Tibor Kovacs, Hungary; LO4.4.7, LO6.1.1 on Win7x64Prof.
PortableApps, winPenPack: LO3.3.0-LO6.1.2 and AOO4.1.5
Please, edit the initial post in the topic: add the word [Solved] at the beginning of the subject line - if your problem has been solved.
User avatar
Zizi64
Volunteer
 
Posts: 7363
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 7:55 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Re: underbrace is wrong position

Postby jrobi » Fri Dec 29, 2017 10:33 pm

All right, but that does not help me because I have Windows 10
Openoffice 4.1.4 Windows 10
jrobi
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 7:52 pm

Re: underbrace is wrong position

Postby Villeroy » Fri Dec 29, 2017 10:51 pm

Could be a font problem. I don't know how to fix any font problems with AOO Math.
Please, edit this topic's initial post and add "[Solved]" to the subject line if your problem has been solved.
Ubuntu 18.04, OpenOffice 4.x & LibreOffice 6.x
User avatar
Villeroy
Volunteer
 
Posts: 25835
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 1:35 am
Location: Germany

Re: underbrace is wrong position

Postby Zizi64 » Fri Dec 29, 2017 11:00 pm

All right, but that does not help me because I have Windows 10


OK; but we all found out, that the problem is not present at
- LibreOffice on Win 10 - it means: it is not a "missing Font" related problem... (But maybe it is other Font related problem)

- AOO 4.1.4, AOO 4.1.4 portable on Win7, and AOO 4.1.4 on Linux - these mean: the problem not related to an AOO general bug.


You can try to
- reset your AOO user profile
- make a clean (a really clean) reinstall of the AOO
Tibor Kovacs, Hungary; LO4.4.7, LO6.1.1 on Win7x64Prof.
PortableApps, winPenPack: LO3.3.0-LO6.1.2 and AOO4.1.5
Please, edit the initial post in the topic: add the word [Solved] at the beginning of the subject line - if your problem has been solved.
User avatar
Zizi64
Volunteer
 
Posts: 7363
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 7:55 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Re: underbrace is wrong position

Postby Villeroy » Fri Dec 29, 2017 11:02 pm

Oh, what is the matter with that "operating" system?
https://www.cnet.com/forums/discussions ... ult-fonts/
Times New Roman seems to be the font that is used by default when I create a Math formula.
Please, edit this topic's initial post and add "[Solved]" to the subject line if your problem has been solved.
Ubuntu 18.04, OpenOffice 4.x & LibreOffice 6.x
User avatar
Villeroy
Volunteer
 
Posts: 25835
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 1:35 am
Location: Germany

Re: underbrace is wrong position

Postby keme » Sat Dec 30, 2017 12:46 am

The Math app has had alignment issues since Windows 8. You could try Martin_g's solution (As I understand it, he is using an older version of the OpenSymbol font file, with new glyphs copied in).
User avatar
keme
Volunteer
 
Posts: 2977
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007 10:27 am
Location: Egersund, Norway

Re: underbrace is wrong position

Postby jrobi » Sat Dec 30, 2017 8:56 am

Problem solved!
Thank's for a lot of help.
I install the OpenSymbol_V1.7_new6.ttf font and "underbrace" works!

Best regards,

jrobi
Openoffice 4.1.4 Windows 10
jrobi
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 7:52 pm

Re: underbrace is wrong position

Postby keme » Sat Dec 30, 2017 9:15 am

jrobi wrote:Problem solved!
Thank's for a lot of help.
I install the OpenSymbol_V1.7_new6.ttf font and "underbrace" works!

Excellent!

Forgot to point out one important pitfall: Please note the issues mentioned in that thread, about printing mostly. That patched up font file has been a lifesaver to me and many others, but there are reports of a few cases where printers simply stop working when you print a document utilizing the OpenSymbol font after installing the fix.
Apache OO 3.4.1/4.1.2/4.1.3, on Ms Windows 7/10 and Mac OS-X 10.8.5 and 10.11.
LibreOffice 4.3.3.2 on Mepis Antix MX 14
User avatar
keme
Volunteer
 
Posts: 2977
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007 10:27 am
Location: Egersund, Norway


Return to Math

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests