[Solved] Cannot house my formula in brackets

Discuss the formula editor

[Solved] Cannot house my formula in brackets

Postby jasonaoo » Sat Apr 23, 2016 4:59 pm

I am trying to write a pretty complex formula. Part of it is in brackets so I use left[ and right]. But the result is a multiline wrong output which some question marks. I tweaked it a lot but didn't make sense where it went wrong. The screen shot is attached for clarity.
Image

To my surprise, first part of the formula comes last in the document. Any ideas?
Last edited by RoryOF on Sat Apr 23, 2016 10:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Added [Solved] and green tick [RoryOF, Moderator]
OpenOffice 4.1.1
Windows 10 x64 Enterprise
jasonaoo
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2016 6:33 am

Re: Cannot house my formula in brackets

Postby RoryOF » Sat Apr 23, 2016 5:26 pm

Nearly what you want
Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
%psi_h = A_h Left[ cos(q_h x) cos((q_h y) over sqrt(3)) + 1 over 2 cos((2 q_h y) over sqrt(3)) right ] +bar%psi
Apache OpenOffice 4.1.4 on Xubuntu 16.04.03 (mostly 64 bit version) and infrequently on Win2K/XP
14 October 2016 was Pooh's 90th birthday
User avatar
RoryOF
Moderator
 
Posts: 25509
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2009 9:30 pm
Location: Ireland

Re: Cannot house my formula in brackets

Postby acknak » Sat Apr 23, 2016 5:33 pm

Something like this?

    {ital %psi}_h ` = `
    A_h left [
    {cos (q_h{x})}
    {cos {left ({q_h{y}} over sqrt 3 right )}} +
    {{1 over 2} cos {left ({2{q_h}{y}} over sqrt 3 right )}}
    right ] +
    bar {ital %psi}

Can't have too many curly brackets.
AOO4/LO5 • Linux • Fedora 23
User avatar
acknak
Moderator
 
Posts: 22691
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 1:25 am
Location: USA:NJ:E3

Re: Cannot house my formula in brackets

Postby jasonaoo » Sat Apr 23, 2016 6:21 pm

Too many curly braces! works fine. Are they really necessary? What are curly braces for in Math formulas like this? Is it used only for grouping? Were they necessary after the first plus sign?
OpenOffice 4.1.1
Windows 10 x64 Enterprise
jasonaoo
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2016 6:33 am

Re: Cannot house my formula in brackets

Postby acknak » Sat Apr 23, 2016 7:33 pm

Yes, only for grouping.

Necessary? Maybe not, but so what? OO Math often seems to make surprising decisions about what things go together. I just accept it and put all terms inside curlies to start with. It also helps to build up term by term, with braces around each one to make sure they don't interact weirdly.

I find the Math editor awkward, especially with more complex formulas. I work around that by using a good, brace-matching text editor and copy/paste into OO Math.
AOO4/LO5 • Linux • Fedora 23
User avatar
acknak
Moderator
 
Posts: 22691
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 1:25 am
Location: USA:NJ:E3

Re: [Solved] Cannot house my formula in brackets

Postby Andrew123 » Thu Apr 27, 2017 11:36 pm

i have the same problem!
Open Office 4.1
Andrew123
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2017 12:48 pm


Return to Math

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests