Page 1 of 1

[Solved] How to label different areas of an image

PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2018 7:34 pm
by MsKelly65
I have a .png file of a floor plan for a large house with many rooms. I want to be able to label each room over the top of the image. I'm not even sure whether to do this in Writer or Draw or Impress or what. Can someone give me some guidance? I've spent two hours on this this morning and gotten nowhere. Thank you!

Re: How to label different areas of an image

PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2018 7:38 pm
by RoryOF
I'm not a Draw user, but why not /Insert /Layer and place your labels on that layer?

Re: How to label different areas of an image

PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2018 8:00 pm
by MsKelly65
I've never worked with layers, just know about them from some computer class daughter had to take in high school. There's no getting help from her, though. I'll see if I can figure it out that way. Thank you for your response! :)

Re: How to label different areas of an image

PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2018 8:04 pm
by RoryOF
A layer is like a sheet of tracing paper or clear plastic over the top of your drawing. You should be able to place items on the layer without affecting the layers below it.

Re: How to label different areas of an image

PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2018 9:32 pm
by Hagar Delest
Why not use Draw to insert the picture and then add textboxes on top with your labels and save the whole thing to a new .png file? This way you can adjust the labels afterward if needed.

Please add [Solved] at the beginning of the title in your first post (top of the topic) with the edit button if your issue has been fixed.

Re: How to label different areas of an image

PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2018 11:40 pm
by MsKelly65
How do I add text boxes? I looked and looked for that but couldn't figure it out.

Re: How to label different areas of an image

PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2018 1:50 am
by MsKelly65
I never could get it to let me place a text box with the [T] button. What I tried that will work for me is copying text from another application and pasting it on the new layer. Then I can copy and paste that text box multiple times, changing the text inside to what I need.

Your answers all helped me to figure out what I needed to search for in the OpenOffice help section, so thank you very much!