[SOLVED] setting coordinates--minor annoyance

Discuss the drawing application
hargrove

[SOLVED] setting coordinates--minor annoyance

Post by hargrove »

Is there a way to set the zero point on the coordinates (ruler) so that they persist. I'm working on the layout of musical instruments, basically at the limit of the native resolution of OOD. Not something that can be done in a single session, or on a single page. Everytime I save, move or copy a sheet, or navigate to a different sheet, OOD automatically resets the zero point of the coordinates to the upper LH corner.

Laying out a drawing to a fixed coordinate system referenced to a point or line on the object seems like something that should be supported. At this point Iave looked at all the Menus, the Help, and now the Forum and haven't seen anything relevant.

I'm a relative newbie, but have found OOD very intuitive and ideally-suited to my needs except for this one aspect. What am I missing?
Last edited by floris v on Sat May 02, 2015 9:03 am, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Edited Solved tag
OpenOffice 4.1.1 on Windows8
acknak

Re: setting coordinates--minor annoyance

Post by acknak »

Greetings and welcome to the community forum!

Sorry, I don't see any way to do this. As you say, the origin is reset any time you change pages. Even setting the origin on the master page doesn't stick.

You could try setting a snap point or guide; that is saved in the file and it would make setting the origin a bit easier.
... I'm working ... at the limit of the native resolution of OOD.
You can get full resolution by switching to millimeters as the measurement unit. As I understand it, OO Draw is limited internally to 0.01 mm.
AOO4/LO5 • Linux • Fedora 23
hargrove

Post by hargrove »