Adjust to contour is grayed out

Discuss the drawing application
Post Reply
kyferez
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2008 2:40 am

Adjust to contour is grayed out

Post by kyferez »

I have a text area with text in it. I don't know if it matters or not, but I copied and pasted this text from another program. The text is editable, but if I go to Format->Text and try to check the "Adjust to contour" option, I cannot because it is grayed out, disabled. Please help. Thanks!
http://www.excessivecomputing.com http://www.thecarpcstore.com
OOo 3.0.X on Ms Windows XP + Vista & Ubuntu
User avatar
keme
Volunteer
Posts: 3627
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007 10:27 am
Location: Egersund, Norway

Re: Adjust to contour is grayed out

Post by keme »

The only situation I've seen where that happens is when Fit to frame is selected. Does that fit your situation?

The Adjust to contour and Fit to frame options are mutually exclusive, so when one is selected, the other is disabled.
Apache OO 3.4.1/4.1.2/4.1.3, on Ms Windows 7/10 and Mac OS-X 10.8.5 and 10.11.
LibreOffice 4.3.3.2 on Mepis Antix MX 14
kyferez
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2008 2:40 am

Re: Adjust to contour is grayed out

Post by kyferez »

Fit to Frame is Not checked. I have a number of extensions installed, but just tried disabling them and it didn't change anything...

Thanks!
http://www.excessivecomputing.com http://www.thecarpcstore.com
OOo 3.0.X on Ms Windows XP + Vista & Ubuntu
kyferez
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2008 2:40 am

Re: Adjust to contour is grayed out

Post by kyferez »

anyone?
http://www.excessivecomputing.com http://www.thecarpcstore.com
OOo 3.0.X on Ms Windows XP + Vista & Ubuntu
kyferez
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2008 2:40 am

Re: Adjust to contour is grayed out

Post by kyferez »

If noone here knows, how do I get help from ooo?
http://www.excessivecomputing.com http://www.thecarpcstore.com
OOo 3.0.X on Ms Windows XP + Vista & Ubuntu
User avatar
keme
Volunteer
Posts: 3627
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007 10:27 am
Location: Egersund, Norway

Re: Adjust to contour is grayed out

Post by keme »

Can you attach your file to one of your postings?
It's easier to make a diagnose if we have first hand contact with the problem.
Apache OO 3.4.1/4.1.2/4.1.3, on Ms Windows 7/10 and Mac OS-X 10.8.5 and 10.11.
LibreOffice 4.3.3.2 on Mepis Antix MX 14
User avatar
foxcole
Volunteer
Posts: 1507
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 1:31 am
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contact:

Re: Adjust to contour is grayed out

Post by foxcole »

kyferez wrote:I have a text area with text in it. I don't know if it matters or not, but I copied and pasted this text from another program. The text is editable, but if I go to Format->Text and try to check the "Adjust to contour" option, I cannot because it is grayed out, disabled. Please help. Thanks!
This isn't detailed enough for me to know what you're talking about, either in exactly what you're working with or exactly what you're trying to do.

What do you mean by "a text area"... are you referring to a text object created with the "T" tool? The adjust-to-contour option is available in a drawn object, such as an ellipse, in which you're able to enter text, so the text will fill the object's shape instead of appearing in straight lines across the middle. (At least, that's how it works in 2.4.0.) For some reason I think you might be trying to curve a standard text box, which isn't possible with that option.
Cheers!
---Fox

OOo 3.2.0 Portable, Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
rlalger1
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2008 1:46 pm

Re: Adjust to contour is grayed out

Post by rlalger1 »

I am trying something of the same. I am doing an org chart. I select a shape, drop it in, double-click inside the shape to add text, type the text, right-click, select "text", and the attachment is what displays. No ability to select "fit to frame" or "adjust to contour". Any ideas?

Rob
Attachments
grayed.jpg
OOo 2.4.X on Ms Windows XP
User avatar
foxcole
Volunteer
Posts: 1507
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 1:31 am
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contact:

Re: Adjust to contour is grayed out

Post by foxcole »

rlalger1 wrote: I am doing an org chart. I select a shape, drop it in,
What do you mean by select a shape and drop it in? Is this org chart perhaps from a template with predefined shapes, and if so, where did you find the template?
Cheers!
---Fox

OOo 3.2.0 Portable, Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
User avatar
acknak
Moderator
Posts: 22756
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 1:25 am
Location: USA:NJ:E3

Re: Adjust to contour is grayed out

Post by acknak »

It strikes me as being ill-designed and confusing, but it seems clear enough: different kinds of shape support different text options.

Basic objects support only Adjust to contour or Fit to frame, but not both.

"Smart shapes" (e.g. the flowchart shapes) support only Word wrap text in shape and/or Resize shape to fit text.

Text boxes support only adjust width and/or adjust height.

You can tell what class any particular shape belongs to by looking at the left of the status bar when the object is selected.

Why anyone would build something with support for three different classes of "shape with text in it", each with similar but different and mutually exclusive capabilities and properties, I can only guess.
AOO4/LO5 • Linux • Fedora 23
rlalger1
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2008 1:46 pm

Re: Adjust to contour is grayed out

Post by rlalger1 »

No template. I'm just trying to use what Draw offers. I thought I could use the "flowchart" icons in an org chart. No dice. The grayed out functions pretty much kill the ability. Also, the icons are exactly what's needed to represent an org chart [close, however]. Maybe someone will design some extensions to add on!?

Thanks.

Rob
Attachments
flowchart.jpg
OOo 2.4.X on Ms Windows XP
User avatar
acknak
Moderator
Posts: 22756
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 1:25 am
Location: USA:NJ:E3

Re: Adjust to contour is grayed out

Post by acknak »

Sorry, but I don't see what you're talking about. You can certainly use OOo Draw to make flow charts, so maybe you can elaborate a bit on what you're after.

Does this have something to do with the topic in this thread? In my experience, the functions we were discussing here are almost never useful, so it's hard to see how it would prevent you from using Draw.
AOO4/LO5 • Linux • Fedora 23
User avatar
foxcole
Volunteer
Posts: 1507
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 1:31 am
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contact:

Re: Adjust to contour is grayed out

Post by foxcole »

acknak wrote:Sorry, but I don't see what you're talking about. You can certainly use OOo Draw to make flow charts, so maybe you can elaborate a bit on what you're after.
The goal is an organization chart rather than a flowchart. I'm not sure how the "adjust to contour" or "fit to frame" would be useful, exactly, but I'm also not designing the org chart.

What I would do in this case, rlalger1, is just draw a shape from the tools that do let you use these functions, size it to whatever looks best, then open the Gallery, long-click on the shape, and drop it in. Now you can just drag-and-drop it from the Gallery anywhere and as many times as you need it in the file. (Incidentally, it will also be available to all the other OOo modules, so if you happen to need it in Writer, there it is.) You can also copy your favorite connectors to the Gallery, if that makes them more accessible to you.
Cheers!
---Fox

OOo 3.2.0 Portable, Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Post Reply

Return to “Draw”