[Solved] Help on text scaling

Discuss the drawing application
Paul F

[Solved] Help on text scaling

Post by Paul F »

Hi all, I'm new to OpenOffice Draw, have been a Coreldraw user for years. I am attempting to create a 'blue print' for modifications I'm doing inside the rear canopy on my pick-up, the page size is 2000mm x 2000mm. I would like to know how to scale any text I insert into objects I create (simple rectangles).....even by setting the font size to the max of 96 it is still too small to read unless I magnify the page.
Also, once I insert the text into an object how do I 'group' or 'combine' the text, to use Corel speak, so the object can be repositioned on the page and the text stays insitu?

Many thanks.
Paul
Australia.
Last edited by MrProgrammer on Thu Aug 13, 2020 4:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Tagged ✓ [Solved]
Open Office version 4.1.6, Win10
Zizi64
Volunteer

Re: Help on text scaling

Post by Zizi64 »

I would like to know how to scale any text I insert into objects I create (simple rectangles).....even by setting the font size to the max of 96 it is still too small to read unless I magnify the page.
The size "96 pts" is the maximum value what you can CHOOSE from the dropdown list. But you can WRITE any other (even larger) values into the font size edit box.

My tip:
Use the Styles instead of manual formatting method.
Tibor Kovacs, Hungary; LO7.5.8 /Win7-10 x64Prof.
PortableApps/winPenPack: LO3.3.0-7.6.2;AOO4.1.14
Please, edit the initial post in the topic: add the word [Solved] at the beginning of the subject line - if your problem has been solved.
Paul F

Post by Paul F »

Thank you Tibor.
RoryOF

Post by RoryOF »

One can enter large font sizes in both Writer and Draw; these, if larger, will be automatically limited to 999.9 pts (72 pts to the inch).
Apache OpenOffice 4.1.15 on Xubuntu 22.04.4 LTS
John_Ha
Volunteer

Post by John_Ha »