[Solved] OpenOffice and LibreOffice similarities

Request For Enhancement, User feedback candidates for wiki
A.S.

[Solved] OpenOffice and LibreOffice similarities

Post by A.S. »

I recently inherited a computer that has Libre rather than Open Office installed. I wondered if writer is similar enough in both programs to use it or if the two programs are significantly different and I should just go ahead and install open office. I have no experience with Libre and only think I read somewhere that the two programs went together for awhile?
Last edited by MrProgrammer on Fri Nov 06, 2020 9:10 pm, edited 3 times in total.
Reason: Add green tick
Open Office 4.1.7 - Win 10 pro x64
Villeroy
Volunteer

Re: open office and libre

Post by Villeroy »

LibreOffice was forked from OpenOffice 3.3 in 2011. Both versions 3.3 were identical. Since then the development of OpenOffice came to halt. OpenOffice is a hollow brand logo which unfortunately is better known than LibreOffice. LibreOffice comes with regular updates every month and with new featues every 6 months. Even if you prefer OpenOffice because it did not change in a decade, you have to be aware that the static program can't be compatible forever as operating systems change.
Please, edit this topic's initial post and add "[Solved]" to the subject line if your problem has been solved.
Ubuntu 18.04 with LibreOffice 6.0, latest OpenOffice and LibreOffice
robleyd

Post by robleyd »

LibreOffice [LO] is a fork of Apache OpenOffice [AOO]; the major difference is that LO is more actively maintained and has a few more features than AOO. Probably the major difference you may notice is in the user interface - otherwise LO should work for you. Give it a try and see if you like it, if not you can always replace it with AOO.
Cheers
David
OS - Slackware 15 64 bit
Apache OpenOffice 4.1.15
LibreOffice 24.2.1.2; SlackBuild for 24.2.1 by Eric Hameleers
A.S.

Post by A.S. »

Thanks for your responses! (very quick lol)