Multi-Dictionary Management

Request For Enhancement, User feedback candidates for wiki
ytene

Multi-Dictionary Management

Post by ytene »

Before I get started on the details, I'm acutely conscious that this is a feature request for a pretty rare edge case [in my specific scenario]. I hope it may be sufficiently useful to others to prompt consideration.

I would like to ask for a feature to permit LibreOffice to manage multiple dictionaries simultaneously, and to allow the user to "link" optional dictionaries to individual documents or document templates. I think it might be better if I tried to describe a use case that includes the features I'm envisaging...

In my spare time I write (science) fiction, a use of Writer that requires me to use real names [of characters, places] and sometimes to invent words in a fictional language. As a writer, I like to split my work across chapters, with one file for each chapter of my work [and, often, multiple iterative versions of each chapter]. But the problem I experience occurs when I embark on a new chapter well in to a book... In each file, the moment I mention a character/place/new word for the first time, Writer will flag this as invalid and ask me to correct it.

What I'd like to do is to have the ability to create a dictionary management feature that allows me to associate more than one dictionary with a file - in that file's meta-data - so that when I open the file, Writer automatically retrieves and opens the relevant dictionary [that contains all the bespoke words for this particular piece of work].

In the Spellcheck function, I would also then like to see the functionality of the check window slightly enhanced, so that instead of the singular "Add to Dictionary..." option, this portion of the display will dynamically expand, giving me,

"Add to Default Dictionary